Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
My friend Brad and I just started playing GD '42 this weekend. We started with scenario 4.1 (probably should have started with 4.2, it looks like fewer units). We decided not to use the command rules / op sheets in order to play a bit faster and learn the mechanics of the game. Even so, the first turn took about six hours, and after two full days playing I think we were getting a turn done in about 2 hours. We didn't bother with pre-plotted artillery, as we couldn't get our heads around it. We had to reference the rules constantly. Even so, as I read the TCS rules publisher's notes, I realize we got a lot of stuff pretty seriously wrong. And some pretty serious things (the conditions under which overwatch fires are allowed, for instance; even worse - we just assumed any units within LOS and 3 hexes [all our turns were snow turns] was spotted). I (as the Russians) am basically re-creating WWI western front tactics, slamming headlong into his prepared defenses and getting slaughtered. Very little maneuver (which I love in games, almost to a fault). All in all, as I re-read what I just wrote, I think it sounds like a pretty bad gaming experience.

We both love this game! Brad's probably in bed, but still thinking about the game (and we didn't play it at all today, we went to TABSCON instead). I'm up after midnight writing this. We can't wait to keep going - learning the rules for one thing, and certainly utilizing the command system. It is just such a fun and intriguing game, handling so many things so elegantly, I'm surprised I haven't caught more "chatter" about it.

I know that the average rating is quite high, especially for a war game, here on BGG. Still, I'm surprised there isn't a more vocal and avid following. This is a great, great game.