Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Blizzard of '77 Travel Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Some Rule Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
bubba smith
msg tools
Weather and Blizzard cards:

Do you only draw these cards when you end your turn on the space or do you draw one when you cross over a space?

It seems like if you play with 2 or 3 players you will not get to flip the board that often if you pick at the end of your turn.

General Questions:

When you go to work it is located at a 90 degree turn. If you do not have an exact number to get into work do you use that corner as a u-turn or do you count 1 into work and 1 to get back out?

Can you skip your turn if you do not roll the right number to get into a orange card space, or is the game always about the forward momentum?

When you get the card to "move to any space" does this include moving inside one of the round "orange card" spaces?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carolyn Schmidt
msg tools
Here are the rules as we use them (three generation family, have played "Great Blizzard" with child and grandchild over the decades).
1. Draw Weather or Blizzard cards only when you land on one of those spaces (at end of turn).
2. There are actually three "The Blizzard Strikes" weather cards. So, depending on the luck of the shuffle, it can happen earlier or later in the game.
3. Work - we use it as a "u-turn" when someone has rolled more than the number needed to land in it by exact count.
4. You need to get into each orange space by exact count - so, go past and drive around some more, unless you can enter by exact count.
5. "Move to any space" includes the orange destination circles, and also Home.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Court Marley
United States
West Allis
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree with all of the above. I've loved the game for 30 years. :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.