Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Strasbourg» Forums » Rules

Subject: Actions? What is it? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
WRS WRS
Poland
Ropczyce
Podkarpacie
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In rules
Quote:
If someone who turned over an Influence Stack is not eligible to take an Action, he may take exactly 1 Card from that Stack and place it at the bottom of his Deck.


Well, but what is that Action?

In rules Action is only mentioned in steps B, D and F.

What about steps A (nobility and church) and C, E, G (trade) - those are also actions? May I take back one card when I can't do anything?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, these are actions too.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zubbus O'Really
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So basically anything you win during the auction.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mfl134
United States
Havertown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
My words literally betray me.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And to be clear-- For example, if you win a merchant action action but have no goods, you were still eligible to take an action. No card can be saved.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zubbus O'Really
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So they really should have just said if you didn't win anything. It's one of those grammatical situations where in English, it's really not saying what we need to hear or close in the first place but in German, it's the most correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Poplawski
Canada
Victoria
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Meetup.com Victoria German Language Meetup Group
badge
Wer lesen kann ist klar im Vorteil.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Zubbus wrote:
So they really should have just said if you didn't win anything. It's one of those grammatical situations where in English, it's really not saying what we need to hear or close in the first place but in German, it's the most correct.
The German rules are essentially the same, presenting a similar question to someone trying to understand the rules:
Quote:
Ausnahme: Hat jemand einen Einflussstapel aufgedeckt, aber keine Aktion dadurch bekommen, darf er aus diesem Stapel genau 1 Karte nehmen und unter seinen Nachziehstapel legen. Die übrigen Karten legt er zurück in die Schachtel.

The German rules say that if the player did not receive an action when revealing their Influence Stack, they may return exactly one card from the Influence Stack to their Deck. (In a pretty rare twist, the German rules may be saying less than than its translated counterpart, which mentions eligiblity to take an Action!)

However, to help answer the original question in this thread, Actions are referred to above in the section "General Remarks on Influence".

Quote:
The player in 1st Place immediately becomes the new Starting Player and takes the Starting Player Marker. (If all the players pass, the Starting Player remains the same.) Depending on the Step, 1, 2, or 3 players may now take one or more Actions.

So, there it is: the winners of each auction for the first seven of the nine Steps (A-G) may then take one or more Actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.