Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Test of Fire: Bull Run 1861» Forums » Rules

Subject: Additional Retreat questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David J Schaffner
United States
Saint Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the following assault resolution example; if an attacker has rolled (3) retreat results against (2) defending units, how are the results applied?

Are both defending units retreated, or can for example (1) unit do all the retreating? With (3) retreat results, can a single unit be chosen to do all the retreats, thereby retreating (3) areas (while the other unit holds)?

Who decides which units retreat from an area, the owning player or the opposing player (or is retreating counted as damage in this regards)?

And a related question: If a player has multiple Retreat cards, can these be played successively against the same enemy unit (causing the unit to retreat into an additional area for each card played)?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jeff miller
United States
West Jefferson
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think you would only apply two retreats to the units in question and have them fall back one space each, ignoring the third die. Just as you would ignore five hits against two undamaged units, you couldn't inflict more casualties than were engaged.

We played it as the owning player decides which unit retreats.

The rules state that you may play any number of cards in a turn limited by your maximum hand size of five, so I would expect that multiple retreat cards could be used in succession.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve
Canada
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
We play it that the retreat card can only be used once per retreating unit. The reason being that the second card does not fulfill the conditions of the retreat card description on page 15. "If an opposing unit is forced to retreat due to combat then you can force it to retreat one more area." The second retreat card is a card play not combat.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
alex w
Singapore
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If this is treated as a Euro-ish game, than I believe we can play multiple retreat cards as long as we don't break any rules. But you do have a point there about the 'timing' of the retreat action by the card.

Perhaps we should not read too much into what a game 'should be'. Reasonable?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.