Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Twilight Imperium (Third Edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: destroying your own spacedock rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
brett Bolen
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you volunteer to destroy your own spacedock so you can build your one elsewhere later in the game (since you only can have 3) or after you build three is the only way to build another one is if your opponent destroys the dock?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rus
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Look up "scuttling" in the rulebook.
9 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brett Bolen
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks where were you last night when we were playing
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Gagner
United States
Maple Grove
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Another way besides scuttling is to use the new technology Transfabrication.
You won't be able to build it in the same activation, but you will get a trade good from the first activation and then can build it in a second activation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Necessary Evil
United States
Glen Arm
Maryland
flag msg tools
Yes, I play the Bass.
badge
Sweet Holy Moses, Fruit F*cker Prime!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DavidG55311 wrote:
Another way besides scuttling is to use the new technology Transfabrication.
You won't be able to build it in the same activation, but you will get a trade good from the first activation and then can build it in a second activation.


We houserule that you can not do this as it breaks a lot of objectives.

-M
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
malloc wrote:
DavidG55311 wrote:
Another way besides scuttling is to use the new technology Transfabrication.
You won't be able to build it in the same activation, but you will get a trade good from the first activation and then can build it in a second activation.


We houserule that you can not do this as it breaks a lot of objectives.

-M

That you can't do that with Transfabrication at all, or just for Space Docks?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fedor Syagin
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
DavidG55311 wrote:
Another way besides scuttling is to use the new technology Transfabrication.
You won't be able to build it in the same activation, but you will get a trade good from the first activation and then can build it in a second activation.

Didn't Transfabrication referred to UNITS? I didn't realize that counts for space docks. I was assuming you can only scuttle those in status phase.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garfielder wrote:
DavidG55311 wrote:
Another way besides scuttling is to use the new technology Transfabrication.
You won't be able to build it in the same activation, but you will get a trade good from the first activation and then can build it in a second activation.

Didn't Transfabrication referred to UNITS? I didn't realize that counts for space docks. I was assuming you can only scuttle those in status phase.

A unit is any plastic item, per the FAQ.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Washington Irving
United States
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you mean just that you can't scuttle blockaded space docks?

Or were you having a general problem where people would scuttle combat units to avoid the "win a combat against N units" objectives?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rob Corn
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
How appropriate. You fight like a cow.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
sigmazero13 wrote:
garfielder wrote:
DavidG55311 wrote:
Another way besides scuttling is to use the new technology Transfabrication.
You won't be able to build it in the same activation, but you will get a trade good from the first activation and then can build it in a second activation.

Didn't Transfabrication referred to UNITS? I didn't realize that counts for space docks. I was assuming you can only scuttle those in status phase.

A unit is any plastic item, per the FAQ.

Also in the rules on page 4:
The Plastic Game Units: The detailed plastic pieces of TI (collectively called "units") represent the military personnel, shipyards, defense systems, and spaceships that players will command.

And on page 26 under "Rules for Units" -- the first thing listed is the Space Dock.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fedor Syagin
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Haggis wrote:

A unit is any plastic item, per the FAQ.
Also in the rules on page 4:
The Plastic Game Units: The detailed plastic pieces of TI (collectively called "units") represent the military personnel, shipyards, defense systems, and spaceships that players will command.

And on page 26 under "Rules for Units" -- the first thing listed is the Space Dock.


Nice. This is very good point. This whole thing with Saar and that spacedock no matter what are not ships mixed in my head with the units thing.

It is indeed creating problem with "Blockade enemy spacedock" objective. It's not greatest problem, but it might be annoying.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evgeny Reznikov
Israel
Haifa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
There's an entry in the FAQ for that one.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
azuredarkness wrote:
There's an entry in the FAQ for that one.

The entry in the FAQ only talks about scuttling your Space Dock during the Status Phase, basically saying you have to wait until after objectives are claimed. It does not prohibit you from using Transfabrication to scuttle the dock during your turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.