Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Bulge 20» Forums » Rules

Subject: Yahtzee at St. Vith rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Charlie Jehlen
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
Wild game last night with my ftf buddy Chuck. Playing as the Germans, I went for Aachen. Took Liege on the first turn, but wasn't making much headway at St. Vith. That is, until five sixes came up on a disadvantaged attack to wipe out the 1st Army and it's "Nuts!" card! Still lost the game on the last roll as the 9th and British 2nd Armies carpetbombed, and then made two attacks to eliminate the 6th Army in Liege. A few questions and comments came up:

1. The corps designations of the 8th and 3rd corps appear to be reversed. Shouldn't the 8th corps be defending Clerveaux at the start with the 3rd corps arriving with Patton?
2. Why aren't cities extenders of supply lines? Surely the roads from Aachen can supply Liege as well as the road from St. Vith.
3. Can "Patton prays for good weather" be played without the 3rd Army being committed?
4. Why must German armies occupy the victory areas at the end of the game? The Germans could clear the map, but still lose becuase their armies were not sitting in cities / depots due to the reduced number of cards and the 8th Air Force.
5. Was there once a rule reducing the victory level for each Westwall area controlled by the Allies?

Thanks for your help. We'll switch sides and try it again next weekend.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Griffey
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
CRJehlen wrote:
2. Why aren't cities extenders of supply lines? Surely the roads from Aachen can supply Liege as well as the road from St. Vith.


Aachen was destroyed in the brutal battle for the city in October 1944.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.