Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Up Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Accepting individual transfer from multiple groups rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Marty M
Ireland
Fermoy
Co Cork
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We had a slightly unusual situation last night. My opponent had groups A, B & C, all at range 2.

In his turn, group A played a Movement card to send one man into group B by Individual Transfer. In the same turn, group C played a Movement card to send one his men into group B.

The following turn, group B accepted these men. The rules talk about one group sending men by individual transfer, and the receiving group accepting them in a subsequent turn as their sole action.

We presumed that the group could accept men from both groups as their sole action that turn. I presume this is correct - the rulebook doesn't specifically prohibit or allow this.

Is there an errata or FAQ answering this question?

Any opinions?

Cheers,

Marty.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I guess that you can do it. At least that's how we play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Yiannis Avramandis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is referring to a transfer from ONE (not two) group to another.

So in my opinion you have to take two actions with the B group.

My interpretation, not an official rule or errata.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marty M
Ireland
Fermoy
Co Cork
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Emil 109 wrote:
The rule is referring to a transfer from ONE (not two) group to another.

So in my opinion you have to take two actions with the B group.

My interpretation, not an official rule or errata.


Yeah, I oscillated between these two possibilities. I can see the argument for each interpretation. My opponent was losing, so I made a sporting decision to let him do it with one action!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Irving
United States
Salinas
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The correct answer from the Andy Maly's old UF errata pages is:

Quote:
17.8 If Groups A & C each transfer a man to Group B simultaneously, can B receive both of them with one action?
A. Yes.


Andy was developing UF 2000 for MMP and had been the semi-official errata keeper for UF after AH was sold. He had them on his web site with his old service provider,

I have a Microsoft Word copy which I'll post here.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.