Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Elder Sign» Forums » Rules

Subject: Terror and At Midnight effects rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Bernier
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all, 2 quick questions after my first game.

1- Terror effects on Mythos cards: I checked every Mythos cards and none has a Terror effect on it. Whats is/Where is this Terror effect on a Mythos Card?

2- At Midnight effects: Just to make sure I understood correctly, when the clock hits Midnight, EVERY "At Midnight" effects on EVERY Adventure/Other World cards take effect on every characters?

Thanks a bunch all!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H-B-G
United Kingdom
Halesowen
West Midlands
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rhezuss wrote:
Hi all, 2 quick questions after my first game.

1- Terror effects on Mythos cards: I checked every Mythos cards and none has a Terror effect on it. Whats is/Where is this Terror effect on a Mythos Card?


On the Card "Eldritch Knowledge... ...In a Disturbed Mind", there is a Terror effect - Discard all terror dice.

Quote:
2- At Midnight effects: Just to make sure I understood correctly, when the clock hits Midnight, EVERY "At Midnight" effects on EVERY Adventure/Other World cards take effect on every characters?


Correct
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Hansen
United States
South Jordan
Utah
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmb
1. Under 'Lingering Effects', there's at least one mythos card that says: "All adventure cards receive the attribute Terror:....." However, most terror effects are on adventure cards.

2. Yes. All 'at midnight' effects take place every midnight. Current Mythos card, adventure card, other world card.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Truls Lundgren
Norway
Bergen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Is the 'at midnight' effect on an adventure card canceled if the card is resolved before midnight, or will the effect still take place?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
havrepus wrote:
Is the 'at midnight' effect on an adventure card canceled if the card is resolved before midnight, or will the effect still take place?

If the Adventure card has been completed, then it isn't there during Midnight.

Look at the Player Turn (Page 5, or Page 6 of the revised rules). You resolve an Adventure during Step 2. You Advance the Clock during Step 3.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Truls Lundgren
Norway
Bergen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks! That's what I thought :-)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Lawson
United Kingdom
Yateley
Hampshire
flag msg tools
designer
In addition, don't forget that the new Adventure card that you turn over (to replace the Adventure card you just completed) might have a Midnight effect on it. In which case the new card is triggered during Step 3, the Investigators wouldn't even have the oppotunity to complete it before Midnight strikes.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Truls Lundgren
Norway
Bergen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
That's scary!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.