Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

The Battle for Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Retreat question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Schultz
United Kingdom
Swansea
Swansea
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
OK BfN players get out your maps for a couple quick questions. I think we understand the spirit of the retreat rules (you cant advance toward the enemy) but we would like to get some ruling on the following situation.

Allied units in hexes 3313 and 3314 attack Axis units in 3414 and get an R result. There is a German HQ in 3316 so as a supply source it is closer then Caen. Do the Axis need to retreat to 3415, and through a Allied ZOC to lose another step or can they retreat to 3514? Can the Allies cause step loss through less then optimal placement of German HQs?

Question 2, if there was a HQ in 3514 and the hex was fully stacked we know the Germans would have to move back their first but since it is overstocked could them move off the overstack back to 3414?

Was the design intent Dan to literally move retreating units to the hex closest to a supply source no matter what? We have seen situations where Germans could be forced off roads or out of cover terraign through R results. If that is the intent fine, we will just have to play the Germans better :-)

Thanks,
Eric
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Maertz
United States
Duluth
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mb
Im not looking at a map but you move into EZOC as a last resort. You dont have to move into EZOC just because it is closer to your Supply Route. You would go any other hex first.

I must be honest Im unsure about where Overstacking falls into it. If you have the option of EZOC or non-EZOC in an overstacked hex, Im not sure which you have to pick.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.