Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Axis Event #30 Last Reserves rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This event places up to 2 replacements. Does a unit placed from surrendered box count for 1 or 2 ? Usually, cost is paid with cards, two in this case.

Replacements seem different that Improving Units so may this event be used to flip over units on map ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Its a REPLACEMENT (rule 7.9). So you cannot flip units on the map, you have to bring in some from the Destroyed and Surrendered boxes.

And indeed a unit in the Surrendered box would "eat up" the two replacements.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Laufle
United States
San Ramon
California
flag msg tools
designer
I enjoy games about Stalingrad
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
Its a REPLACEMENT (rule 7.9).
And indeed a unit in the Surrendered box would "eat up" the two replacements.


I looked at this lately and the rules seem to totally contradict this.
7.9 states: "From the Surrendered Units Box, the owning player must
discard two cards from his hand for each Replacement ."
A replacement is defined as a UNIT returning from either box with a cost of one or two cards.

The card states; "Last Reserves: Play during either player’s Card Phase to immediately receive and place up to two Axis replacements and lose
1 VP."
This implies you get two units and the cost is zero, rather than 4 cards.

If your ruling is otherwise there need to be serious text changes to either the cards or the rules, shrug.


On that same note, the implication of the Russian Joker is that the single replacement granted by the card can get a unit (replacement) out of the Surrendered box with just the one card. (cost would normally be two cards but the Joker states otherwise)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rhuned wrote:
licinius wrote:
Its a REPLACEMENT (rule 7.9).
And indeed a unit in the Surrendered box would "eat up" the two replacements.


I looked at this lately and the rules seem to totally contradict this.
7.9 states: "From the Surrendered Units Box, the owning player must
discard two cards from his hand for each Replacement ."
A replacement is defined as a UNIT returning from either box with a cost of one or two cards.

The card states; "Last Reserves: Play during either player’s Card Phase to immediately receive and place up to two Axis replacements and lose
1 VP."
This implies you get two units and the cost is zero, rather than 4 cards.

If your ruling is otherwise there need to be serious text changes to either the cards or the rules, shrug.


On that same note, the implication of the Russian Joker is that the single replacement granted by the card can get a unit (replacement) out of the Surrendered box with just the one card. (cost would normally be two cards but the Joker states otherwise)


Yes, the event cards "trump" the rules!

With the "Last Reserves"card you indeed get the two units with a ZERO cost, instead of 4 cards.

Read this rule, page 4:

[5.3.2] Event Precedence: When there is a conflict between
Event text and the Rules, the Event text takes precedence.


So the cards can in fact "change" the game's rules.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Laufle
United States
San Ramon
California
flag msg tools
designer
I enjoy games about Stalingrad
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent! Thanks Carl. Is it the same for the Russian Joker then?
1) It allows you to bring ONE UNIT out of the surrendered box?

2)Is it considered an 'Event'? Can it be cancelled by opponent card play?
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rhuned wrote:
Excellent! Thanks Carl. Is it the same for the Russian Joker then?
1) It allows you to bring ONE UNIT out of the surrendered box?

2)Is it considered an 'Event'? Can it be cancelled by opponent card play?


1) Yes.

2) Yes indeed!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.