Popular Tags: [View All]
Greg Todd
United Kingdom
Manchester
England
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi
[I play mostly 3-player RFTG, mostly against the AI, mostly base game + Gathering Storm.]
I'm no expert, but I've got a resonable grasp of military and produce/consume stategies, but I can't for the life of me get a development strategy to work.

Here's my development strategy plan:

Step 1: get down some development discouts, eg Investment Credits and Interstella Bank

Step 2: The ususal windfall trade for more cards.

Step 3: play lots of small developments. occasional trades for more cards.

Step 4: play a few 6 cost devs, hoping for Galacic Federation.

Step 5: lose.
(by a LOT if I didn't play GF, but still lose even if I did)

The problem is that small devs score very few VPs and 6-cost devs mainly score points for worlds, which I don't have many of, so they also score badly. ie I can play developments cheaply, but they don't score enough to win, so it doesn't help.

My attempts at a Development strategy have been some of my most crushing defeats.

What am I doing wrong?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chun Ping
Singapore
Portland
OREGON
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
why do you even restrict yourself in playing only dev? you are taking things too literally and too narrowly, hence the lost.

In any strategy in RftG, you still have to adapt to other players AND the cards you draw. It's a tactical game where there's no way you can dictate your strategy at the on set. If you do that, even with military strategy, you are doomed to lose.