Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Prince Imrahil - Action Timing rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Say I have 3 allies and Prince Imrahil committed to the quest. A card like exhaustion comes off the deck which deals two damage to exhausted character.

Can I do the following :

- Deal damage to one of the allies
- Since the damage kills them I then can ready Imrahil
- Imrahil doesn't take the 2 damage since he is no longer exhausted.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Will Fuqua
United States
Hendersonville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Usually things in the game work their way down from biggest threat to least. Think of the sequence enemies get shadow cards and attack. So, the hero would probably take damage first. Of course I have no specific rules to show to back this up and you may be correct. I'm trying to remember, his ability is a response right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jakub praibis
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
This is something I have asked since I first saw the card for Éomund. I think the answer is that you have got to deal all damage simultaneously but it is not an official answer.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chadwick VonVeederVeld
United States
Rapid City
South Dakota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
Official FAQ pg. 2 (from Fantasy Flight's website) wrote:

(1.02) Simultaneous Effect Timing
If two or more conflicting effects would occur
simultaneously, the first player decides the order in
which the effects resolve.

Example: Tom plays Sneak Attack (CORE 23) to
put Beorn (CORE 31) into play during the combat
phase. Sneak Effect has the condition, “At the end of
the phase, if that ally is still in play, return it to your
hand.” During combat, Tom uses Beorn’s triggered
effect, which has the condition, “At the end of the
phase in which you trigger this effect, shuffle Beorn
back into your deck.” At the end of the phase, a
situation arises in which two conflicting effects are
attempting to resolve simultaneously on Beorn. The
first player determines which of the two effects resolves
first. (The second effect no longer applies when Beorn
leaves play.)



EDIT-I don't think this ruling applies in the situation being questioned...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ryan Langewisch
United States
Englewood
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
www.ludolodge.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
VonVeederVeld wrote:
Official FAQ pg. 2 (from Fantasy Flight's website) wrote:

(1.02) Simultaneous Effect Timing
If two or more conflicting effects would occur
simultaneously, the first player decides the order in
which the effects resolve.

Example: Tom plays Sneak Attack (CORE 23) to
put Beorn (CORE 31) into play during the combat
phase. Sneak Effect has the condition, “At the end of
the phase, if that ally is still in play, return it to your
hand.” During combat, Tom uses Beorn’s triggered
effect, which has the condition, “At the end of the
phase in which you trigger this effect, shuffle Beorn
back into your deck.” At the end of the phase, a
situation arises in which two conflicting effects are
attempting to resolve simultaneously on Beorn. The
first player determines which of the two effects resolves
first. (The second effect no longer applies when Beorn
leaves play.)


That pretty much answers your question. You are allowed to destroy one ally first to prevent Prince Imrahil from taking damage.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jakub praibis
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
Legendary wrote:
VonVeederVeld wrote:
Official FAQ pg. 2 (from Fantasy Flight's website) wrote:

(1.02) Simultaneous Effect Timing
If two or more conflicting effects would occur
simultaneously, the first player decides the order in
which the effects resolve.

Example: Tom plays Sneak Attack (CORE 23) to
put Beorn (CORE 31) into play during the combat
phase. Sneak Effect has the condition, “At the end of
the phase, if that ally is still in play, return it to your
hand.” During combat, Tom uses Beorn’s triggered
effect, which has the condition, “At the end of the
phase in which you trigger this effect, shuffle Beorn
back into your deck.” At the end of the phase, a
situation arises in which two conflicting effects are
attempting to resolve simultaneously on Beorn. The
first player determines which of the two effects resolves
first. (The second effect no longer applies when Beorn
leaves play.)


That pretty much answers your question. You are allowed to destroy one ally first to prevent Prince Imrahil from taking damage.


Really? That would be great. And thanks for the example; however, I feel it does not quite fit this problem. Hope it does, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chadwick VonVeederVeld
United States
Rapid City
South Dakota
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
yeah, actually I don't think you can play a response before all of the damage has been dealt....I misinterpreted the original question....you have to resolve all of the "when revealed" or "forced" effects, before you have an opportunity to play a response....so IMO, the prince will still take the damage, but then you can ready him if you would like...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Chadwick is correct. FAQ 1.02 does not apply, since none of the simultaneous effects "conflict." It's certainly possible (and correct) to put damage on all the characters simultaneously.

Since the damage occurs simultaneously, Imrahil cannot avoid the damage but he could, as has been said previously, ready himself afterward.

It's sort of like using the Steward of Gondor on a hero: There is no possibility of action between adding the first resource token and adding the second - they happen at the EXACT same time.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Smith
United Kingdom
Pimlico
London
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
manydills wrote:
Chadwick is correct. FAQ 1.02 does not apply, since none of the simultaneous effects "conflict." It's certainly possible (and correct) to put damage on all the characters simultaneously.

Since the damage occurs simultaneously, Imrahil cannot avoid the damage but he could, as has been said previously, ready himself afterward.

It's sort of like using the Steward of Gondor on a hero: There is no possibility of action between adding the first resource token and adding the second - they happen at the EXACT same time.


Thanks - I think this is right.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
jakub praibis
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmb
manydills wrote:
Chadwick is correct. FAQ 1.02 does not apply, since none of the simultaneous effects "conflict." It's certainly possible (and correct) to put damage on all the characters simultaneously.

Since the damage occurs simultaneously, Imrahil cannot avoid the damage but he could, as has been said previously, ready himself afterward.

It's sort of like using the Steward of Gondor on a hero: There is no possibility of action between adding the first resource token and adding the second - they happen at the EXACT same time.


That is what I said in the first response.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jpraibis wrote:
That is what I said in the first response.


Indeed it is. You sounded uncertain, so I wanted to reinforce both the outcome and the reasoning for it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.