Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Battle for Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: 12.1 Combat in general rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
fabrsm fabio
Italy
flag msg tools
ATTACKING RESTRICTION is written:
Attacking ground units must be from
the same Division/Brigade or attached to it (see below). Units in a
defending stack do not have this requirement.
In the 7.6.1 (combat supply in general) is written:
.....Corps units can draw Combat Supply from the Division to which they are attached, OR from a Corps HQ unit. Lines of Supply for such
units must comply with 7.3.1....
This means that they can to attack and they have access to, corps artillery (no divisional) and naval-air support?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Gentile
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Unfortunately, no. Corp units cannot attack by themselves. They must combat supply (attach) through a Division HQ.

Most common use is to allow Corp Arty to trace combat supply to a Corp HQ which is in turn combat supplying a Div HQ. The Corp Arty is then attached to a Division HQ.


Normal Combat Supply runs 'downhill'.

Examples:

Corp HQ >>> Div HQ >>> Same Div unit >>> Combat Supply attack

also

Corp HQ >>> Div HQ >>> Corp unit >>> Combat Supply attack


Now due to above rule, the Corp unit may be out of range of the Div HQ, but can still be attached.


Corp Arty < Corp HQ > Div HQ > attach Corp Arty > Combat Supply attack

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fabrsm fabio
Italy
flag msg tools
Barcaboy wrote:
Unfortunately, no. Corp units cannot attack by themselves. They must combat supply (attach) through a Division HQ.

Most common use is to allow Corp Arty to trace combat supply to a Corp HQ which is in turn combat supplying a Div HQ. The Corp Arty is then attached to a Division HQ.


Normal Combat Supply runs 'downhill'.

Examples:

Corp HQ >>> Div HQ >>> Same Div unit >>> Combat Supply attack

also

Corp HQ >>> Div HQ >>> Corp unit >>> Combat Supply attack


Now due to above rule, the Corp unit may be out of range of the Div HQ, but can still be attached.


Corp Arty < Corp HQ > Div HQ > attach Corp Arty > Combat Supply attack



Thank you Barcaboy
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
fabrsm fabio
Italy
flag msg tools
Barcaboy wrote:
Unfortunately, no. Corp units cannot attack by themselves. They must combat supply (attach) through a Division HQ.

Most common use is to allow Corp Arty to trace combat supply to a Corp HQ which is in turn combat supplying a Div HQ. The Corp Arty is then attached to a Division HQ.


Normal Combat Supply runs 'downhill'.

Examples:

Corp HQ >>> Div HQ >>> Same Div unit >>> Combat Supply attack

also

Corp HQ >>> Div HQ >>> Corp unit >>> Combat Supply attack


Now due to above rule, the Corp unit may be out of range of the Div HQ, but can still be attached.


Corp Arty < Corp HQ > Div HQ > attach Corp Arty > Combat Supply attack



....and 7.6.4 attacking Without cSps?
"Allied units may always attack at full strength from a single hex
without spending any CSPs as long as they are in General Supply.
However, in this situation they will be unable to use Air, Naval or
Artillery support."
so, Corp units in a single hex, can attack together with no artillery/air support...OK?
Thank you Barcaboy

because Danny Holte in this question: [url][/http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/547148/corps-units] ....(Corp units may attack on their own, without divisional attachment but only in General Supply. In other words, they can attack from a single hex, w/o air, artillery or naval support.) the corp units can do.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.