Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Titan» Forums » Rules

Subject: Summoning and Angel rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Drake
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
I like pizza!
badge
I LIKE IT!!! ????
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If the attacker chooses not to summon an Angel during battle and the battle goes on for several turns, can he still summon after the battle even though he didn't do it in the strike phase immediately following the kill?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gamesmeister99 wrote:
If the attacker chooses not to summon an Angel during battle and the battle goes on for several turns, can he still summon after the battle even though he didn't do it in the strike phase immediately following the kill?


Yes

15.2 If the attacker wins an Engagement by agreement or by the
defender conceding, he may immediately summon an Angel,
so long as he has one available and has not summoned one
already during the current Engagement Phase. If the defender
flees, the attacker may not summon an Angel.

15.3 While a Battle is being resolved, the attacker only has the option
of summoning an Angel once, and that is during his first
Maneuver Phase following the slaying of one or more opposing
characters. If the attacker passes up his option to summon, or if
he is unable to summon because his Legion presently contains
seven characters, the option is lost during that Battle. If the attacker
goes on to win, however, he may then summon an Angel
after the Battle, within the restrictions mentioned above.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kelly Bass
United States
Venice
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
From the rules:
The Law of Titan wrote:
15.3 If the attacker goes on to win, however he may then summon an Angel after the Battle, within the restrictions mentioned above.


Edit: ninja'd

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Drake
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
I like pizza!
badge
I LIKE IT!!! ????
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The restrictions mentioned above line was what was confusing.

Thanks for your prompt replies, I can always count on the geek.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can someone clarify this please?

Only one Angel can be summoned by a player during his entire Engagement Phase. ONLY THE ATTACKER MAY SUMMON ANGELS, BUT HE IS NOT REQUIRED TO DO SO.

If you have a couple of battles and multiple Angels you can only summon it once?

In other words can't summon an Angel for both battles? Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Drake
United States
Springfield
Missouri
flag msg tools
I like pizza!
badge
I LIKE IT!!! ????
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Agreed. The Law of Titan

Rule 6.0:TITAN is played in a series of turns called Game-Turns, beginning with the first player and proceeding clockwise around the table until the game ends. The player who is taking his turn is known as the Mover. Each Game-Turn consists of four phases: Commencement, Movement, Engagement, and Enlistment. The different activities of these phases are meant to take place in their prescribed order, and all the activity of a particular phase should be completed before proceeding to the next phase. Players who forget to do something should not be allowed to do it out of sequence later, except in the instance of an unresolved Engagement which should be resolved as soon as it is discovered as overdue. Activity that takes place out of order is invalid, but if another Game-Turn has begun since it occurred, the activity should be allowed to stand.

Rule 15.0:Summoning is a type of teleportation where an Angel (or Archangel) is removed from a friendly Legion somewhere on the Masterboard and added to another Legion which is either currently engaged in a Battle or which has just won a Battle. The attacker must summon the Angel into a Battle during his first Maneuver Phase following the first Strike Phase in which one or more of the defender's characters are slain. To summon an Angel, the attacker must have an Angel available in another of his Legions that is not currently involved with an opposing Legion in an unresolved Engagement (an Angel that has already fought in another Legion in a victorious Battle this Engagement Phase may be summoned, and any damage previously taken is healed before the summoning). An Angel just acquired due to a previous Battle in this Engagement Phase may be summoned. A Legion cannot summon an Angel if it presently contains seven characters (do not count those already slain). Only one Angel can be summoned by a player during his entire Engagement Phase. Only the attacker may summon Angels, but he is not required to do so.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks gents.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
One note if you play Colossus is that there is a bug in angel summoning when you eliminate another player. It cleans up the eliminated player before checking for angel summoning, so that it allows you to summon an angel from a legion that should actually still be engaged. The bug is known, but not real easy to fix and of low impact (you can just not do the illegal summons).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Boman
Åland
Mariehamn
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
According to the new rules, if you want to summon an angel you have to do it during the attackers first strike phase.

But, is the defender allowed to retaliate first, before the attacker summon the angel? Otherwise the attacker might have 7 characters on the field and is unable to summon. But if the defender manages to kill one attacker piece, then the attacker can summon the angel before the it's the defenders turn.

Can someone please clarify this.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Schroth
United States
Middletown
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
What do you mean, "new rules"? I only know of one set of rules, and it says you summon an angel in the first movement phase after the strike phase in which you killed the first enemy unit. Which means the defenders will retaliate first and possibly kill something to make room for the angel.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Boman
Åland
Mariehamn
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, that's what I wanted to know, if the defender can retaliate before you do the summoning.

I think the Avalon Hill Rules are a little different to the Valley Games. But I'm not 100% sure of that.

And if you play Colossus Online you can summon an Angel when ever you kill an opponent, you can still only do it once though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Bauer
United States
Reading
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Waste Water too
badge
Mid-Atlantic Air Museum
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
haxpet wrote:
According to the new rules, if you want to summon an angel you have to do it during the attackers first strike phase.

But, is the defender allowed to retaliate first, before the attacker summon the angel? Otherwise the attacker might have 7 characters on the field and is unable to summon. But if the defender manages to kill one attacker piece, then the attacker can summon the angel before the it's the defenders turn.

Can someone please clarify this.


The Law of Titan:
15.0 Summoning is a type of teleportation where an Angel (or Archangel) is removed from a friendly Legion somewhere on the Masterboard and added to another Legion which is either currently engaged in a Battle or which has just won a Battle. The attacker must summon the Angel into a Battle during his first Maneuver Phase following the first Strike Phase in which one or more of the defender's characters are slain. To summon an Angel, the attacker must have an Angel available in another of his Legions that is not currently involved with an opposing Legion in an unresolved Engagement (an Angel that has already fought in another Legion in a victorious Battle this Engagement Phase may be summoned, and any damage previously taken is healed before the summoning). An Angel just acquired due to a previous Battle in this Engagement Phase may be summoned. A Legion cannot summon an Angel if it presently contains seven characters (do not count those already slain). Only one Angel can be summoned by a player during his entire Engagement Phase. Only the attacker may summon Angels, but he is not required to do so.

15.3 While a Battle is being resolved, the attacker only has the option of summoning an Angel once, and that is during his first Maneuver Phase following the slaying of one or more opposing characters. If the attacker passes up his option to summon, or if he is unable to summon because his Legion presently contains seven characters, the option is lost during that Battle. If the attacker goes on to win, however he may then summon an Angel after the Battle, within the restrictions mentioned above.

You get one chance to summon the angel/archangel during battle: on the manuever phase after the combat phase where you killed something. This means that the opponent gets his counter-attack, move, and attack before you can summon an angel. If you don't have the room, or you simply do not summon the angel -- that's it, you can't summon one until the end of the combat. If you win the combat and have not yet summoned an angel, you may do so if you have the room.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruno Wolff
msg tools
SewerStarFish wrote:

You get one chance to summon the angel/archangel during battle: on the manuever phase after the combat phase where you killed something. This means that the opponent gets his counter-attack, move, and attack before you can summon an angel. If you don't have the room, or you simply do not summon the angel -- that's it, you can't summon one until the end of the combat. If you win the combat and have not yet summoned an angel, you may do so if you have the room.

One other note that new players might miss, is that you still have to have a unit alive when you summon an angel (or arch). If you have already lost the battle before the manuever phase in which you could have summoned you don't get to summon.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.