Recommend
5 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Replacement vs Improvement rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Carl, I am a tad confused about the Axis restrictions until Turn 5.

So neither replacements nor improvements can be taken until Turn 5. I get that

Cards that break that rule only mention replacements. Which would mean that units totally destroyed could be brought back.

However I get the feeling from reading some stuff on here that I may be missing something and these cards can also be used to 'improve' damaged German units during this period.

Is that correct, and if so where do I find the rule that covers that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes there is a small typo in the rules (another one! Grrr...). I will add it to the errata.

YOU CANNOT upgrade or replace Germans until turn 5. The rule should be:

Page 7:

[7.9.1] Axis Replacement Restriction: Except for the play of certain Event cards, the Axis player cannot improve units, or replace destroyed or surrendered units prior to Turn 5 (as per the Turn Track).

It is correctly stated on page 17:

5 - Begin German Replacements: The Axis player can commence discarding cards to Replace or Improve his units during his Organization Phase (7.0).

Note that some cards can still allow you to get some replacements, like card #03 (troop Transfer).

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So can Troop transfer improve a unit too?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Troymk1 wrote:
So can Troop transfer improve a unit too?


Yes! This is why on the card it is stated "Even one that costs 2 cards", as flipping a German unit cost 2 cards (but for a few special units).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
Troymk1 wrote:
So can Troop transfer improve a unit too?


Yes! This is why on the card it is stated "Even one that costs 2 cards", as flipping a German unit cost 2 cards (but for a few special units).


It is the interchangeability of the word 'replacement' as used in the rules that is confusing Carl.

A legalistic reading would infer that 'replacements' only refer to returning units from the Destroyed or the Surrendered boxes.

I would throw this in the errata



 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Troymk1 wrote:
I would throw this in the errata


Done this morning. I have updated rule (7.9.1) in the errata. cool

I have also explained a few other rules in more detail. Ver 5.0 is available on BGG since a few minutes ago.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gustavo
United Kingdom
Birmingham
West Midlands
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
licinius wrote:
Troymk1 wrote:
I would throw this in the errata


Done this morning. I have updated rule (7.9.1) in the errata. cool

I have also explained a few other rules in more detail. Ver 5.0 is available on BGG since a few minutes ago.


And even though I have the newest version of the Rules, I was playing that Troop Transfer could only be used to Replace units (as stated on the card)...

Any plans for an updated Errata anytime soon?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mhhh... Good idea. Perhaps next month (when the game will be "out of stock"), I'll take a bit of free time to do a "final" errata. whistle
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Wilton
CT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Do two-step, new reinforcements enter play at full strength or half?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
madhatter wrote:
Do two-step, new reinforcements enter play at full strength or half?


Full Strength.

And it's a very good question. Historically perhaps a few should enter as 1-steppers. I could perhps revise this if there is a reprint. Not sure it,s really worth the hassle, but I'll keep it in mind.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.