Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Rule 8.5.5

"It is possible for a retreating force to join a besieged force inside a castle and exceed, until the next time combat is declared, the stacking limit of the castle."

How might this happen?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For a force to retreat into a location with enemy blocks (such as a location where the retreating player is being besieged), it would have to have no other legal retreat routes. Remember blocks have to retreat to empty or friendly locations first if possible (and if you are the attacker, you must first retreat from whence you came).

If those blocks have no other viable retreat route, then they may retreat into enemy blocks. If this happens a battle would then ensue where the retreating player becomes the attacker. Those blocks in the castle would join the fight (unless the retreating player is the active player and those castle blocks have already had combat declared for them that turn).

At least that's my understanding
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Calkins
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garygarison wrote:
Rule 8.5.5

"It is possible for a retreating force to join a besieged force inside a castle and exceed, until the next time combat is declared, the stacking limit of the castle."

How might this happen?


If a force retreats into a combat space which has already been resolved that turn, and which resulted in a siege standoff, the retreating force joins one of the two forces in that space, regardless of the aggregate size of the new force.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Thanks, Matt. And so combat-after-retreat never occurs at a location where combat had already been resolved earlier in the turn?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Poole
United States
Goldsboro
North Carolina
flag msg tools
Udu Wudu
badge
Udu Wudu
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is my understanding (which can obviously be wrong) that when blocks retreat into a space where the enemy is besieging friendly blocks, a battle occurs immediately:

8.8.5
Quote:
It is possible for a retreat to cause another battle (or overrun). If so, execute that battle immediately and resolve its consequences
.


Now whether or not the friendly blocks that were already in the castle join the fight depends on whether or not combat was declared for them earler that turn. (hopefully the designer will clarify whether or not this is correct)

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Calkins
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If blocks retreat into an unresolved combat, they wait until combat is declared and then fight. (All blocks in a castle must fight, if combat occurs outside.) If blocks retreat into a location with enemy units and cause a combat situation, that combat is resolved immediately with the retreating force as the attacker.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Calkins
United States
Arlington
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garygarison wrote:
Thanks, Matt. And so combat-after-retreat never occurs at a location where combat had already been resolved earlier in the turn?


Combat could theoretically occur several times per turn in a regular location, provided each time it was decisive. But a state of siege cannot be re-fought during the same combat phase.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls

Eugene
Oregon
msg tools
Avatar
mb
Think I got it. Granted, this appears to be a highly unlikely scenario, but just wanted to be clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.