Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Struggle of Empires» Forums » Rules

Subject: Free Actions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Paprocki
United States
Green Bay
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I have a question about free actions associated with the development tiles. Can the free action be taken at any time or does it have to be during your turn? If available on other players turns, can it be used in the middle of an action as an "interrupt", or does it have to wait to occur between actions?

I don't recall anything specific in the rules, but my opinion is that is can be used at any time. The ramifications of an "interrupt" would include using merceneries or press gangs to boost your defense after an attack has been announced and paid. It would include being able to use the war office to launch a preemptive strike after another player's attack has been annouced and paid.

What do you think Geeks? Is there an official answer, or at least a concensus?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Inno Van
United States
San Francisco/East Bay
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can take unrest to gain money at any time. Even when it's not your turn. If you using the money to bid in the alliance auction or other auction (like when you and another player compete to bribe another player the most) you may wait to see if you win the bid first before you actually take the unrest/money.

The free unit tiles Mercenaries, Press Gains and Native troops can only be tapped on your turn, but do not count as one of your two actions. (People have tried playing where you could tap when you were the defender and found it added nothing to the game while adding more hassle and slowing combat up with unnecessary feints)

Reserves may be used when you are either the attacker or defender ONLY. Allies can not use Reserves even if they have troops committed.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Shaffer
United States
San Francisco
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mercenaries, Press Gains and Natives and War Office can only be played on your own turn.

Reserves can be played during combat if you are the attacker or defender, but not if you are an ally.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.