Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Plunder: The Commodore's Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple first mates? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Bostwick
United States
Liverpool
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
While playing the Commodore's Game tonight a question came up regarding first mates. Actually several related questions:

- Are first mates assigned to a specific ship? This could be important in the event that you leave a ship behind while running from something.

- Is it possible to have more than one first mate? Presumably this would only be possible if the answer to the previous question was "yes."

- Do first mates' special abilities pertain only to a single ship or do they affect all ships in the fleet? Or does it depend on which first mate we are talking about? For instance, does the +10 cannons guy add 10 to every ship's cannon rating, or only to the ship he is assigned to? Does the "+2 silver on trade" guy add +2 only to the cargo of the ship he is assigned to, or to all cargo in your fleet?

Thanks,

Dan
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Karl Lepp
United States
Eau Claire
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Wazdakka wrote:
- Are first mates assigned to a specific ship? This could be important in the event that you leave a ship behind while running from something.

- Is it possible to have more than one first mate? Presumably this would only be possible if the answer to the previous question was "yes."

No. Each player has only one First Mate. You only lose your First Mate if your ship goes down, he/she mutinies, or you dimiss him/her. Multiple First Mates per player would have been more complicated than we wanted to institute even in The Commodore's Game. (Thematically speaking, each ship does have a first mate, it's just there are a few special first mates who bring extra abilities to you, and these special first mates are limited to one [at a time] per player.)

Wazdakka wrote:
- Do first mates' special abilities pertain only to a single ship or do they affect all ships in the fleet? Or does it depend on which first mate we are talking about? For instance, does the +10 cannons guy add 10 to every ship's cannon rating, or only to the ship he is assigned to? Does the "+2 silver on trade" guy add +2 only to the cargo of the ship he is assigned to, or to all cargo in your fleet?

The First Mates' abilities function just as they would in regular Plunder.

-Peg Leg Greg gives you +10 to your overall cannon, not +10 cannon per ship.

-One-Eye Jack gives you +10 to your overall crew, not +10 crew per ship.

-Mannie Oakes allows you to sell cargo at +2 silver per unit - this applies to all cargo you have.

-Longshanks saves you 1 silver overall during Pay Yer' Crew, not 1 silver per ship.

-Scrubbeard allows you to sell all plunder/prize ships at non-enemy ports.

This does mean that Mannie Oakes and Scrubbeard's abilities are potentially more valuable in Commodore's than regular Plunder, but still aren't out of line with the value of the other First Mates.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.