Recommend
 Thumb up
 Hide
61 Posts
1 , 2 , 3  Next »   | 

Urban Sprawl» Forums » Reviews

Subject: First impressions after one game by someone who rates Dominant Species a 5 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Rao
United States
Seattle
WA
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
Q:When I say "lawyer" what pops into your head? A:Someone who designs games about penguins." - Dormammu
mbmbmbmbmb
So of course this is a bit of riff on CurtC's excellent first thoughts - http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/716255/first-impressions-aft... . It's amusing to me because I learned DS from Curt last year, and played the same 3-player US game with Curt last night.

First, all the disclaimers that Curt gave. It was just one play.

Second, I haven't written much about Dominant Species (and haven't even written a review in a couple of years), but here's what I think: Chad Jensen is a brilliant designer whose games are positively teeming with great ideas. As a game designer myself, I am certain that a new CJ game will have a bunch of cool new, fresh mechanics, just as I with Chvatl or Martin Wallace. That said, DS, to my mind, suffered from a kitchen sink problem. Specifically, the ability to remove opponent's tokens from the board in the final phase (competition, I think), IMO, added hugely to game time (because it made it much harder plan your moves) without making your decisions much more interesting. Similarly, I don't think the game needed the ability to get extra meeples.