Recommend
7 
 Thumb up
 Hide
20 Posts

Bios: Megafauna» Forums » Rules

Subject: Roadrunner Track Query rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Nelmes
Wales
Machynlleth
Powys
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The S track on the playing board is a bit misleading (imho). At first, I read it to mean that any species with S or SS was defined as a land animal and couldn't enter sea spaces. Hence that a species couldn't have M and S genes at the same time.

However, having read the rules more carefully, it seems that a land animal is defined as any species that does not have any M genes. Thus, it is perfectly acceptable to have M and S genes (in fact, there is a MSSS genome card).

Have I got this right?

Great game btw - really enjoying it.

2 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Which card is MSSS ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Nelmes
Wales
Machynlleth
Powys
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Pterosaur: Flying Reptiles

The other (mammal) half of the card is Bats.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmmm... that's changed since I was playtesting, mine is ASSS...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricky Gray
United States
Powder Springs
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
Hmmm... that's changed since I was playtesting, mine is ASSS...


Which would, of course, have a completely different graphic on it...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Eklund
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't have a copy yet, but my recollection is that amphibians have a single M, sea animals have double or triple M, and everything else is a land animal.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gunther Schmidl
Austria
Linz
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Matthew_Eklund wrote:
I don't have a copy yet, but my recollection is that amphibians have a single M, sea animals have double or triple M, and everything else is a land animal.


This is he correct answer.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Nelmes
Wales
Machynlleth
Powys
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Preacher wrote:
Quote:
Hmmm... that's changed since I was playtesting, mine is ASSS...

Which would, of course, have a completely different graphic on it...
I was deeply disappointed that HISSS was a perching bird, and not some sort of snake...
4 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Hoppe
Denmark
Frederiksberg
flag msg tools
What are you, like 80?
badge
It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nusku wrote:
The S track on the playing board is a bit misleading (imho). At first, I read it to mean that any species with S or SS was defined as a land animal and couldn't enter sea spaces.

Well, that it exactly what it says, after all. Are we to understand that this has been errata'ed and is no longer applicable?



2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
unkle
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Well anything without an M is a land animal and cannot enter sea (which can be an issue if greenhouse levels are up). At least that was my understanding of the rule.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Hoppe
Denmark
Frederiksberg
flag msg tools
What are you, like 80?
badge
It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
unkle wrote:
Well anything without an M is a land animal and cannot enter sea (which can be an issue if greenhouse levels are up).

Well, of course. The question is whether "S" or "SS" also makes something a land animal (that's what the track says after all) regardless of the presence of one or more M's...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pablo Klinkisch
Germany
Heidelberg
Baden-Württemberg
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jens_hoppe wrote:
Well, of course. The question is whether "S" or "SS" also makes something a land animal (that's what the track says after all) regardless of the presence of one or more M's...

It makes you an elite unit and the dream of a lot of wargamers

But it's a good question, I overlooked this while playing.

[I played that you could have SS and _still_ be amphibian]
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
unkle
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sancherib wrote:

But it's a good question, I overlooked this while playing.
[I played that you could have SS and _still_ be amphibian]


Same here. I agree that I see why the board could be confusing on the topic blush but I see it nowhere in the rules. Seems to me you are either M, or not. I guess S/SS is vs SSS-flight ?
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Hoppe
Denmark
Frederiksberg
flag msg tools
What are you, like 80?
badge
It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sancherib wrote:
[I played that you could have SS and _still_ be amphibian]

That's what I argued too in my last game, but since I was the one with the "MS" species, I was overruled. My opponents graciously granted me the -1 range from M, and the inability to enter sea habitats from the S.

Of course, if the "strict" reading of "S/SS => land animal" is true, what happens if you get S and MM?! The S makes it so you can't enter sea habitats, while the MM makes land habitats off limit. In other words, an "MMS" species wouldn't be able to live anywhere. Doesn't sound right...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Hoppe
Denmark
Frederiksberg
flag msg tools
What are you, like 80?
badge
It's not the years, honey, it's the mileage.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
unkle wrote:
I guess S/SS is vs SSS-flight ?

A very reasonable explanation, I think. I have asked the question on the megafauna yahoo group, hopefully Phil will chime in there before too long.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
unkle
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
jens_hoppe wrote:
I have asked the question on the megafauna yahoo group, hopefully Phil will chime in there before too long.


Saw that :-)
Let's wait for the expert.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Eklund
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I emailed phil as soon as I saw this. He has just returned from germany and is still a bit out of sorts... however, he has provided the following answer:

The definition of a land creature is a creature with no M Dna.

The words within the land creature bone are correct; however S dna is not related to land creature status, despite what the bone's location on the track may imply.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
unkle
France
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So we played it correctly. Great !
Next game is tomorrow, can't wait !
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Gómez
Taiwan
Taipei
flag msg tools
Aquí irá una frase ingeniosa
badge
No me toques los meeples
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This is the response of Phil Eklund to this question:

Quote:
No, this limitation does not apply if the species has marine adaptations, and perhaps that bone would have been better left off. The relevant rule is 11.1a, which defines a land animal as one with no "M" (marine) DNA. This means that a species can have "S" (speedy) and "M" (marine) at the same time. The only example from nature that I can think of that has both "S" and "M" is a flying fish.
Taken from Megafauna Yahoo Group

I think that the bone in S Roadrunner is an errata
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.