Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Advanced Squad Leader: Starter Kit #1» Forums » Rules

Subject: Close Combat Clarification rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Peter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Hi,

Picked up ASLSK1 the other day and finally got round to trying out S1 tonight (solo). I was doing ok rules-wise (I think!) until I got half way through turn 3 and came across a situation where I advanced a stack of German units (2MMC (2 x 5-4-8)+ 1SMC (9-1)) into a building hex with a stack of American units (3MMC (1 x 7-4-7, 2 x 6-6-6)+ 1SMC (8-1)) - ALL the American units were already broken (having previously dived into the building in the previous RtPh).

At this point I re-read the CC rules (3.8) and scratched my head a bit. The rules state: "Only unbroken units may attack, but even broken units defend, although they suffer a -2 DRM to CC attacks against them."

At the risk of sounding dense I didn't follow this too well. My problem was with the terminology 'only unbroken units can attack' and 'even broken units defend' and then the rules stating that the DEFENDER designates his 'attacks'... soblue anyway, here's what I did... (I'd really appreciate if someone can tell me if I did this right or not? If not, what I should have done...

Germans (ATTACKERS) designate an attack with all 3 units against the two 6-6-6 American units. This equals 11FP - 12FP in the Americans favour. I calculated the ratio to be 1-2 (I hope I got that right too!!!!)

The Americans (DEFENDERS) designate an attack with all 4 units against all 3 german units. This equates to 20FP - 11FP in the Americans favour. Which I calculated as a 3-2 ratio (I think!!)

End result:
Germans (needing less than 4 (1-2 ratio)) roll a DR of 2 (5 -1 Leader bonus -2 vs. broken units) to eliminate both 6-6-6 American MMC's)
Americans (needing less than 6 (3-2 ratio)) roll a DR of 4 (5 -1 Leader bonus) to eliminate all 3 German units.
The American 7-4-7 and 8-1 leader remain in the building hex in their broken state.

I assumed that initiating close combat against a house full of broken units would have been a relatively advantageous action for the Germans to undertake - with hindsight it clearly wasn't - if I played this right of course...I'm not convinced.

Hope the above makes sense and thanks for any clarification...
Peter

P.S. I'm loving this game but man it hurts your head! wow

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bradley Knoll
Canada
Shilo
Manitoba
flag msg tools
MMP Disliker
badge
Soldier for Up Front, but is my back to the Volga or the Spree river?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure how you advanced in a hex with broken units already adjacent. They had to have routed away during rout phase. Broken units in CC can only really happen if someone fires into a melee hex in SK. (in the big boy rulebook there is other ways this can happen)

The 'attacker' is whatever side happens to be doing their player turn of the game turn. (Game turn consists of two player turns). The Germans were the attacker for CC purposes.

Looks like you calculated the odds and DRM's correctly for the Germans. If the Americans would have been eligible for an attack, looks like you calculated right. CC does not have to be stack vs stack. You could have choose just to gang up on 1 or 2 squads and ignore the other, or conduct separate attacks as you see fit. This would likely mean melee, but a good tactic if you have some time to boost the CC odds ratio in your favour.

Broken units can not attack, so the Americans would have just been eliminated. End of CC. So yes it was highly advantageous, but you probably should not have been able to advance in the first place, and the Americans would not get an attack if you advanced against brokies legally.

A DR of 1,1 (2) would have also meant leader creation.

Don't get discouraged, you are doing fine.

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Put short:

1. broken units are eliminated at the end of the RtPh if they are adjacent to enemy units.

2. broken units in CC do not fire back.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stuart Poll
England
matlock
Derbyshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Try playing through these tutorials instead of figuring it all out for yourself, they are by edelrio.
http://boardgamegeek.com/file/download/7ve2b4zvuf/ASLSK1_S1_...
http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/44414/aslsk1-tutorial-eop-...
Try reading and playing through the examples in this by richfam, it is considered to be pretty much the best work on ASLSK and this cool pdf version was made by peterk.
http://boardgamegeek.com/filepage/40482/jay-richardsons-asl-...
and lastly look at all the ASLSK and full ASL video primers by Joe Steadman AKA boardgame cop. The SK primers are in the video section of the ASLSK #1 entry on BGG although they are not under Mr Steadmans name.
They are also on youtube.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks guys!

Totally forgot about the adjacent broken counter needs to rout rule! It was getting pretty late by this point and my brain was getting tired. Plus I think I was getting so fixed on trying to wrap my mind around the rules for the forthcoming CC I completely overlooked this!

Thanks again.
Peter

P.S. I've read through the first Jay Richardson tutorial already (and checked out Joe's vids) but hadn't seen the other 2 tutorials you have linked. I'll take a look at those - thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You need to play it a hundred times to learn the rules by heart.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.