Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Which one to resolve first? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ren Thicya
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey there!

We had an interesting situation regarding Surge cards and Thalin.

As you all know, Thalin damages enemies that turn up during the Quest Phase.

What happens when I flip over the Eastern Crows card (surge, 1 hp)?

Do I need to solve its Surge effect and then deal Thalin's damage on him, or I damage him first (killing him with that), and I don't have to deal with its Surge effect?

Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FAQ wrote:
When an enemy card is revealed from the encounter
deck, Thalin’s ability resolves before any keyword or
“When Revealed” card effects on the encounter card.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ren Thicya
Hungary
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Zeb Ulon

Oxford
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
This was the object of a very lengthy debate on FFG forums:
www.fantasyflightgames.com/edge_foros_discusion.asp?efid=201...

Look at pages 9 and 10 for the "final" comments.

Thalin's ability has no keyword, therefore it is a constant effect (p. 23) which occurs when a card is revealed. The FAQ clarifies that the damage is done before "When revealed" effect and any keywords. Note that Forced on the Crows card is not a keyword but an effect. So Thalin defeats the card immediately, before applying the Surge keyword, but the Forced is applied: the Crows are shuffled back in the event deck.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.