Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Days of Steam» Forums » Rules

Subject: Another circuit question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Chris Ellison
msg tools
mb
Suppose there is an existing circuit between town 1 and town 2, using the "north" and "east" connections of town 1. If I form a simple loop using the "south" and "west" connections of town 1, does that form a new circuit? Sort of a figure-8 with town 1 at the center?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
doug eckhart
United States
INDIANAPOLIS
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
The rule is: "A circuit is a continuous loop of tracks connecting at least 2 towns(different or same colors) so that a train could start at one town, pass through the other town and return to the original town without traveling over any portion of a single track segment twice and without reversing direction. "

You would be traveling over a portion of a track segment when you crossed at the center of your figure-8, so I don't think there would be a new circuit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Ellison
msg tools
mb
Thanks for answering. It's really kind of a "rules lawyer" type question. It is possible to start in town 1, say on the east branch (not *at* the center), travel to the other town, then back into the first town now crossing through the center, then into the extra loop, then return to the first town, stopping just before hitting the center, so you never actually have to cross the center twice. When it came up in a game, we agreed that it was a cheesy way to try to get a circuit chip, but we wanted extra opinions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
(((100% real name)))
Israel
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Javasaurus wrote:
It is possible to start in town 1, say on the east branch (not *at* the center),

The way I understand the rules is that town tiles don't have separate track segments like bridge tiles. Also this single track segment doesn't have parts/portions like on junction tiles. So once you've been on the east town's branch, you've been on all of them.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James
United States
Fort Polk
Louisiana
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So you already had a circuit between town A and B, and now you created a loop between towns A and C? That is absolutely a new circuit. In fact, if you had only added a couple of tiles to the existing A-B circuit to provide the option of a slightly different path, then that is a new circuit as well.

The definition of circuit is pretty broad. If you create a new path that iseven just one tile different than the old path (say cutting a corner somewhere), then that is a new circuit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.