Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eminent Domain» Forums » Rules

Subject: When can you use Streamlining/Hyperefficiency? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EDIT: Answers in line

Streamlining wrote:
You may remove 1 card in hand from the game each turn.


Streamlining wrote:
You may remove any number of cards in hand from the game each turn.


Can I use this ability after my clean up phase? Draw up to my hand limit, then streamline? This would be useful particularly the first turn you obtain the tech.

YES

Does each turn include other players' turns? This really powers up the card.

NO

Can I use this ability during my clean up phase? Draw a card, streamline it, then draw up to my hand limit. The streamlined card wouldn't count toward your hand limit.

NO

Link to answer source: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/7607406#7607406
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berger
United States
Round Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
In brief: yes, no, no
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
My inclination would be to read it as during your turn.
This fits in with other permanent powers.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
arkayn wrote:
In brief: yes, no, no

That's not consistent. If he uses it after his cleanup phase, he's already in the next player's turn.
So if he cannot use it during someone else's turn, he can't do it after the cleanup phase, since that ends your turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Berger
United States
Round Lake
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
Rokkr wrote:
arkayn wrote:
In brief: yes, no, no

That's not consistent. If he uses it after his cleanup phase, he's already in the next player's turn.
So if he cannot use it during someone else's turn, he can't do it after the cleanup phase, since that ends your turn.


You can use it during your cleanup phase, either after or before drawing. cards. What you can't do is draw a few cards, use it, then continue drawing up to your hand size.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
Rokkr wrote:
arkayn wrote:
In brief: yes, no, no

That's not consistent. If he uses it after his cleanup phase, he's already in the next player's turn.
So if he cannot use it during someone else's turn, he can't do it after the cleanup phase, since that ends your turn.

Sure, but he can use it during his own turn during the cleanup phase after drawing cards to reach the hand limit.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Trevor Schadt
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
arkayn wrote:
You can use it during your cleanup phase, either after or before drawing. cards. What you can't do is draw a few cards, use it, then continue drawing up to your hand size.
I had to go searching for this, so to make life easier for everyone, here is a link to Seth confirming this ruling:

http://boardgamegeek.com/article/7607406#7607406 (look at the fourth quote block reply)
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
designer
Glory to Rome!
badge
"Let each man pass his days in that wherein his skill is greatest" Propertius Sextus
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: When can you use Streamlining?
Rokkr wrote:
My inclination would be to read it as during your turn.
This fits in with other permanent powers.

I assume I can use these cards unconditionally on other player's turns:
Weapon Emporium
Imperialism
Fertile Ground


These cards explicitly state they have use on other player's turns:
Bureaucracy
Dissension
Adaptability


Assuming Bureaucracy is in play, I these would work on other player's turns:
Scorched Earth
Abundance


These explicitly state your turn:
Logistics
Productivity

These don't specify:
Hyperefficiency
Streamlining


So it seems like if you are going to take a majority vote, then they could be used on any player's turn.

EDIT: Ninja'd by Trevor Schadt (ryudoowaru)! Thanks for the link to Seth's answer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.