Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Crusader Rex» Forums » Rules

Subject: Tyre/Tripoli clarifications from Columbia rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
C Sandifer
United States
Lutherville
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I heard back from Columbia about rules related to Tripoli/Tyre. The Q&A below will be added to the FAQ as a result.

Note that the second question can be directly relevant to the first card play of the game!

Q: What does it mean that Tripoli and Tyre are fortified ports that are friendly to the besieged defender (1.14 and 5.4)? What are the implications of this?

A: Fortified ports allow the defender to Sea Move into/out of the castle even when besieged. Units moved into castles in this manner are treated as responding units (6.42), so their round of arrival in combat (round 1 or round 2) depends on whether they were Sea Moved into the castle by player 1 or player 2.

Examples:

Tripoli is an ongoing siege location, with the Saracens besieging two Frank blocks in the castle. To bolster the Tripoli castle defense, the Frank player (as player 1) uses a 2-move card to Sea Move one of the defending blocks out of the castle and Sea Move a stronger defending block into the castle. The Frank block that Sea Moved into the castle arrives in time for round 1 of combat.

Tripoli is an ongoing siege location, with the Saracens besieging two Frank blocks in the castle. To bolster the Tripoli castle defense, the Frank player (as player 2) uses a 2-move card to Sea Move one of the defending blocks out of the castle and Sea Move a stronger defending block into the castle. Because responding blocks moved by player 2 are delayed in their arrival, the Frank block that Sea Moved doesn’t arrive inside the castle until round 2 of combat. Special note: If the Saracens storm and eliminate the lone Frank block in the castle in round 1, the attacking Saracen units become the castle defenders starting with round 2. In this case, the Frank block that Sea Moved into Tripoli must abort its move and return to its original location, unless the unit was an English crusader - in which case it can choose to attack the Saracen defenders per 7.22 (Richard’s Sea Legs).

Q: Is the “friendly port” status for Tripoli and Tyre also valid if a new battle is initiated in one of these locations?

A: Yes. Blocks friendly to the defender can be Sea Moved into the Tyre/Tripoli castle by player 2 if a new battle has been initiated by player 1 in one of these locations. The blocks that are Sea Moved into Tyre/Tripoli are reinforcing blocks, and therefore arrive inside the castle at the start of round 2.

Example:

At the start of the Game Turn, the Frank player has one block in Tripoli. As player 1, the Saracen player attacks Tripoli with two units from Damascus (along the Baalbek-Tripoli road) and pins all other nearby Frank units. As player 2, the Frank player responds by Sea Moving a unit from Acre (a port) into the Tripoli castle. If the original defending Frank unit in Tripoli deploys in the field, round 1 is a field combat round and the Sea Moved block arrives inside the Tripoli castle at the start of round 2. If instead the original defending Frank unit deploys in the castle before combat, round 1 will be a Siege or Storm round and the Sea Moved unit arrives inside the castle at the start of round 2.

Special note: If the Saracens eliminate the lone Frank block in round 1, the attacking Saracen units become the castle defenders starting with round 2. In this case, the Frank block that Sea Moved into Tripoli must abort its move and return to its original location, unless the unit was an English crusader - in which case it can choose to attack the Saracen defenders per 7.22 (Richard’s Sea Legs).


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Hutchinson
New Zealand
Waitakere
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb


Yes I figured that was the case.

Given the earlier clarification around deployment (which is more limited than the rules read for the Franks) an opening attack on Tripoli if the Franks choose to fully garrison Antioch at deployment [leaving therefore the one block in Tripoli] and given any Frank reinforcing block will not arrive until round 2 (assuming the Saracens go first) must be a worthwhile opening play for the Saracens. angry

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.