Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

FAB: The Bulge» Forums » Rules

Subject: A Question About Garrisons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Soon Louis
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The Yanks have a unit (block) and the Spa garrison obviously in the Spa area. The Germans move two panzer units in to the area and the American player decides to use a SA to retreat before combat. Since the garrison cannot retreat is it eliminated? Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gene Baker
United States
Ocean Springs
Mississippi
flag msg tools
badge
Games with dragons, spaceships, and bears aren’t wargames. Call them conquest games or strategy games or crap but they aren’t wargames.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SLouis39 wrote:
The Yanks have a unit (block) and the Spa garrison obviously in the Spa area. The Germans move two panzer units in to the area and the American player decides to use a SA to retreat before combat. Since the garrison cannot retreat is it eliminated? Thanks.


Yes see 16.21
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Soon Louis
Canada
Calgary
Alberta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. Yes we did see that rule but we were a little uncertain because using the SA to retreat from combat actually avoids combat so you could interpret the second last sentence where it says "remaining behind during a retreat from combat" as referring to where a combat has occurred. For example, if the defender takes one hit and decides to retreat and be disordered instead of taking the hit leaving the garrison behind. However what utimately made us decide that the garrison is eliminated is rule 8.24 and the last sentence where it indicates that the attacker is awarded an explotation opportunity when the defender uses a SA to retreat before combat. How could the attacker be awarded an exploitation opportunity if the garrison still remains and the attacker has to attack it? Note too rule 8.24 is worded Retreat before Combat whereas rule 16.21 reads retreat from combat.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.