Rainbow Snake wrote:
In the work of brevity that is the rulebook, it doesn't say this *isn't* the case, but I like my rules more spelled out.
As we know, if a Fire Spirit hits one of the heroes it turns into a "Fire Wall" fire ball.
But what if a hero gets in the first hit?
The rules don't mention that so we've got to extrapolate from what they did say.
We ruled that a hero getting in the first hit kills a Fire Spirit and removes it from the board without the Fire Wall getting activated.
I guess other folk might think that any hit on a Fire Spirit turns it into a Fire Wall.
Were we right?
Yes, you are right. That is how the designers intended it to work. Fire Spirits are one of most misinterpreted parts of Catacombs, for some reason. Personally, I don't get it. I guess the rules could be a bit more specific maybe, but the info is there.