Be the Miracle!
There is no knowledge that is not power
I would like clarification for some rules please. thanks in advance
English rulebook states on chapter "construction of your village"
"Each player starts his village with 3 buildings. Each player takes 3 men and 3 women from his supply. the villagers are placed in pairs as follows:
1st pair: on any two of that player's buildings. What 2 buildings? just seconds ago it was mentioned that the players start with 3 buildings
2dn pair: 1 villager on the remaining building(what remaning building? there are 2 remaining buildings, so which one of the 2?) tile and one villager on the school field.
chapter "the characters(overview)"
"For every action that he wants the character to execute, he puts one of his coins on the character's space. If a player wants to put more than one coin on the space of one character, he must first decide how many coins he wants to use, and only then perfors the actions"
(I don't really get it. why is needed to decide first how many coins to spend? can't he simply pay 1 coin ,then perform the action and then 1 more coin to perform the same action? Is it so nescesary for the player to make calculations in his mind about creating products or thinking if he will mare 1 or 2 or 3 couples?? )
If I understand it right, for every villager you marry, you take one coin from the village center, right? for example if I marry my 3 white villagers, 2 to the blue village and 1 in the yellow, I'll take 2 coins from the blue village and 1 from the yellow right?(and place them accordingly to the rules).
chapter "control of a character tile has 2 results"
"A player possesing a character tile may, in his turn use it to make 1 additional action per round with the corresponding character. (as mentioned a round may have many turns among the players, so the tiles are used just ONCE PER ROUND, if a turn comes back again to the player he may NOT use it again, right?)
1. You have 3 starting buildings, which ones depends on wether you use the simple or the advanced setup for your starting buildings. Then you take 3 men and 3 women in total, take one pair (1 man and 1 women) and contribute only one of them (not the whole pair) on any of your 3 starting buildings, you choose which ones. Do that step twice. So after that step, 2 of your 3 starting buildings are already occupied by either 1 men or 1 woman. Thereafter, there´s only one empty building left in your village. This building gets one meeple of one of the remainig pairs. The meeples which remain from that "second pair" is placed in the school. Then there´s only one pair left and this one is splitted as well, placing one in your own vilage center and one is marriaged into a building of another players village.
2. The only calculation you have to make prior your action is how many actions do i want to do in that present turn. For example, you place 2 coins on midwife, making 2 babies. Then it´s the next players turn, he places a certain number of coins on one person, performing the actions.This becomes important because the round ends immideately when only one player has coins left, so this player has the disadvantage of not being able to perform all the actions he wanted to do. He becomes the next starting player though.
3. When you marry one of your own guys into another village, you take one coin per guy from the village center of that other player, preferably your own coin (if one is still there), giving you the benefit of having one more action as you have one more coin available from that moment on. If you take coin of another players colour, you place it in your own village center, making your village more attractive for other players to marry into it.
4.Correct, it´s used only once per round
Hope i could help, i had the same issues concerning the placing of pairs prior my first play, you just have to think that you do not place them as pairs on a building, but you take the pair into your hand, split it and then you make the placement.
Enjoy the game
"For every action that he wants the character to execute, he puts one of his coins on the character's space. If a player wants to put more than one coin on the space of one character, he must first decide how many coins he wants to use, and only then perfors the actions"(I don't really get it. why is needed to decide first how many coins to spend? can't he simply pay 1 coin ,then perform the action and then 1 more coin to perform the same action? Is it so nescesary for the player to make calculations in his mind about creating products or thinking if he will mare 1 or 2 or 3 couples?? )
Everything Kai wrote is correct.
I would like to add the reason why you should first decide how many actions you spend:
Of course you can play it the way you describe it, but if you do, you should keep the following in mind:
If you marry into another village, you may retrieve one of your coins. If you marry one by one, then you may confuse a possible new coin with your old ones.
Let's say, you have only 1 single coin left. You use it to marry and retrieve your coin. You are not allowed to use it immediately. If you play by the rules, this is not a problem, because you have to spend all your coins at once - so you do not have retrieved the dowry and there is no problem. It is also easier no to confuse the standard actions with a possible special action via a token. If you do it one by one, it can happen that you want to use the special action in between two standard actions. Again, this is unlikely to happen if you spend all your coins at once.
Finally, this is a game about strategy. If you do actions, you should already have planned them carefully. So, normally, you will know what you do and how often you are going to do it - but I hope, your gaming partners will let you add a coin if you decide to spend one more. This is a game, not a court!
Sebastian Rapp / Kosmos