Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
2 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » General

Subject: Soviet amphibious invasion of Istanbul or Izmir? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry - but those Areas may only be amphibiously assaulted from the Med.

Time for plan 'B'

Sounds like a fun game in progress, wish I was there
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rick Young
United States
Durham
North Carolina
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Now, in the next turn, a now OOS Hungarian unit from East of Izmir moved into Izmir. Additionally, a German and Italian unit performed an amphibious landing in Izmir. First question: Presumably the OOS Hungarian unit rolls seperately from the amphibious-invading German and Italians? Will his supply be restored if he survives the combat?

The Hungarian Unit will still be OOS. The only way to restore supply for an OOS unit that has moved is to end the turn in a friendly-controlled and supplied area (unless a Special Action is spent for limited supply).

Next turn, I landed 2 more British infantry at Izmir (via the still British-controlled port - no problem, right?)

No problem

In the Axis next turn, some German units rolled over the Dardanelles from Istanbul to join the fray. The OOS Hugarian unit was now gone, but a new (OOS) Hungarian unit was moved from East of Izmir into Izmir, and the German and Italian that had established a beach-head were still there. Now, this isn't the first round of combat in this Area, but the British will get a bonus for the Axis units that came over the Dardanelles, right?

Wrong - river/strats bonuses are only received for Newly Contested Areas.

And the OOS Hungarian will only roll half-dice, right?

Right.

And he still won't have supply at the end of the turn, right?

Right, unless he clears the Area, or spends the SA for limited supply.

At which point do the Amphibiously-invading Axis, the East-Turkey-invading Axis, and the Dardanelle-invading Axis "join up"?

Presumably the OOS Hungarian will be dead, but yes, the other blocks join up. The beachhead is not really necessary since supply can be traced over the Dardenelles.

Thanks for your help in advance!

No problem - good questions
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.