After having just purchased AFAoS and read through the rules, I was struck by something in the end game conditions and am wanting to make sure that I have interpreted them correctly.
As the rules note on page 11, the game ends:
a) If there are no sieges in progress at the start of a player’s turn
and he has placed all of his discs OR cubes onto the board,
b) If there are no sieges in progress at the start of a player’s turn
and he has captured twelve points worth of cubes/discs from
his opponent (a cube is worth two points and a disc is worth
Since the triggering of the endgame depends on both the lack of sieges and the active player's success in either settling/conquering, would it not be possible for the other player to theoretically continue the game indefinitely by playing sieges on each of their turns, at least until they've caught up? Or is this simply a non-issue due to the variability of card draws (i.e., players simply lack the ability to besiege on every turn because they won't have the cards necessary to do so)?