GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,459 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
17 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

1830: Railways & Robber Barons» Forums » Rules

Subject: Delaware and Hudson Private railroad question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vincent Frattali
United States
Spokane
Washington
flag msg tools
The rules for this private company state in the last sentence "Other railroads may lay a tile on the DH starting hex subject to ordinary rules, after which the DH special effects are no longer available"

Questions
1. This can not be done while the DH is owned by a player not a railroad,correct?
2.The act of placing a tile on the DH as well as other private companies results in the immediate closure of said private compamy, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Chan
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
billandmonica wrote:
The rules for this private company state in the last sentence "Other railroads may lay a tile on the DH starting hex subject to ordinary rules, after which the DH special effects are no longer available"

Questions
1. This can not be done while the DH is owned by a player not a railroad,correct?
2.The act of placing a tile on the DH as well as other private companies results in the immediate closure of said private compamy, correct?


1.I don't see a reason why the D&H hex is protected while it is owned by a player. The description of D&H is only for what the railroad can do while the private is being owned by the railroad, not what other players cannot do while it's being owned by a player.

2. The description of the D&H doesn't state closure so I'd play it as unclosed.

Makes sense?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blorb Plorbst
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
I think we're all bozos on this bus.
Avatar
mbmbmb
1. Correct. D&H must be owned by a company to carry out this action.

2. Incorrect. Privates close when the first 5 train is bought. Or at a time specified in the rules.

The M&H closes if the player options a share of the NYC.
The B&O closes as soon as it buys its first train.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eviltofu wrote:

1.I don't see a reason why the D&H hex is protected while it is owned by a player.


Because that's the rule. All the home hexes of the private companies are blocked while a player still owns that private.

BOb
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
pilotbob wrote:
Because that's the rule. All the home hexes of the private companies are blocked while a player still owns that private.


The D&H does not block its home-hex. More specifically, there is no rule saying it does, and there are explicit rules for the other privates. There's just some suggestive board art.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Chan
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
pilotbob wrote:
eviltofu wrote:

1.I don't see a reason why the D&H hex is protected while it is owned by a player.


Because that's the rule. All the home hexes of the private companies are blocked while a player still owns that private.

BOb


I was referring to the ability to lay a tile there (which would destroy the ability of D&H to lay a tile and a station automatically). Sorry for the confusion.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Devon Harmon
United States
Indianapolis
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
pilotbob wrote:
Because that's the rule. All the home hexes of the private companies are blocked while a player still owns that private.


The D&H does not block its home-hex. More specifically, there is no rule saying it does, and there are explicit rules for the other privates. There's just some suggestive board art.


J.C., maybe I'm misunderstanding, but are you saying that a railroad can place a tile on the D&H home-hex while it is still owned by a player?

What about rule 7.2.1, section 4: A railroad may not place a tile on a hex containing a private company owned by a player. A railroad may place a tile on a hex containing a private company that is closed or owned by a railroad.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
Devon Harmon wrote:
J.C., maybe I'm misunderstanding, but are you saying that a railroad can place a tile on the D&H home-hex while it is still owned by a player?


Not any more. I just dug out the original 1830 rules. They are quite clear: the D&H blocks its home hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
Devon Harmon wrote:
J.C., maybe I'm misunderstanding, but are you saying that a railroad can place a tile on the D&H home-hex while it is still owned by a player?


Not any more. I just dug out the original 1830 rules. They are quite clear: the D&H blocks its home hex.


JC your two responses seems to contradict each other.

It is 100% clear to me that a private's home hex IS BLOCKED while a player owns it. I don't think it matters what private it is. The rules I have in 18.0 say:

Quote:
Tiles may NOT be placed on hexagons containing all or part of’ a Private Company owned by a player. Tiles may be placed there if the Private Company is owned by a Corporation (see 23.1) or closed.


Now, once a railroad corp buys it that protection is gone... that is also clear.

There are general rules not specific to any private.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
eviltofu wrote:
pilotbob wrote:
eviltofu wrote:

1.I don't see a reason why the D&H hex is protected while it is owned by a player.


Because that's the rule. All the home hexes of the private companies are blocked while a player still owns that private.

BOb


I was referring to the ability to lay a tile there (which would destroy the ability of D&H to lay a tile and a station automatically). Sorry for the confusion.


So am I. You can't lay a tile on the D&H home tile if D&H is still owned by a player.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J C Lawrence
United States
Campbell
California
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
pilotbob wrote:
JC your two responses seems to contradict each other.


Yes, the first was wrong as stated in the second.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
pilotbob wrote:
JC your two responses seems to contradict each other.


Yes, the first was wrong as stated in the second.


Ok.. got it. Wasn't sure what you're "not any more" referred to.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jerome Chan
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh okay! Glad to discover my mistake!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Eisen
United States
Redwood City
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
clearclaw wrote:
pilotbob wrote:
JC your two responses seems to contradict each other.


Yes, the first was wrong as stated in the second.


It would be helpful if you edited the first to strikethrough the incorrect ruling.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.