GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,813 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

London (first edition)» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about School rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeon Yang-seop
South Korea
Seoul
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hello, everyone! I had a question about School card. The rules say :

You may pay £1 to expend a card of any colour when placing a card in your Building Display.

In this sentence,

1) When a player places a card in his/her Building Display, (s)he only pays £1? Not required to expend a card?

or

2) Pay £1 and expend a card of any colour?

I think 2) is correct.


Thanks in advance!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Thomas Büttner-Zimmermann
Germany
München
Bavaria
flag msg tools
badge
Wiggle It!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2) is correct.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leandro Rocha Pires
Brazil
Rio de Janeiro
RJ
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
2 is correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Morign wrote:

1) When a player places a card in his/her Building Display, (s)he only pays £1? Not required to expend a card?

or

2) Pay £1 and expend a card of any colour?


Just to be 100% clear, #2 is incomplete. The "When a player places a card in his/her Building Display" part still applies. IE, you build a brown card in your display, and instead of discarding a brown, you pay £1 and expend a blue card instead.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alessandro Cingolani
Italy
Arezzo
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A quick question about School cards.

Is it intended that the 2 School card in the A deck are of different colours (1 brown and 1 blue)?

All the other duplicate cards in the game are always the same colour, and the School A-Deck cards are the only ones that are of different colours, hence my question.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alex Drazen
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for the necro, but had an interesting situation come up.

I had built School on a previous turn and was taking the Play Cards action.

Can I use my School ability to pay 1 to change the color of a card, then build it over the unflipped School card whose ability I am using (as long as it was built on a prior turn, I know I can't just overbuild the same stack on the same turn)?

We ruled that I could because the order of actions would be pay a pound to change the color, then build and discard with the changed color, but we weren't sure if that was OK, or if it's considered simultaneous.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Snooze Fest
United States
Hillsborough
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
We love our pups!! Misu, RIP 28 Nov 2010. Tikka, RIP 11 Aug 2011.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's been a while since playing, but sounds good to me!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
M.S. Benistant
Netherlands
flag msg tools
Yes, you can do this ! But after this you can't use the ability again
since you overbuild your school,except when you overbuild a school with
a school (which happened to me one time in a game) !!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.