GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
8,365 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
20 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Sid Meier's Civilization: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about government and battle rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Dodson
United States
Bountiful
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
P. 14 in the rules of play reads: "Any ongoing benefits from a government, such as the abilities on Republic or the coin on Feudalism, only last while a player’s civilization continues to be ruled by that government."

If a player has the "Code of Laws" Tech Card, are the abilities available only if he is playing as a Republic.

Also:
Sometimes a player will have more cards in his battle hand than the other player. When battles end, it is likely that the bigger battle hand will have unused cards. Are the unused cards in the battle hand considered to be "surviving units"? I do know the difference between "battle hand" and "standing forces".

And:
Is attack strength the same as health strength, such as when using the resource ability of Metalworking? So if my unit has a 1 strength value before using Metalworking, would the opposition require dealing 4 wounds to kill that unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Danielson
United States
Mountlake Terrace
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Code of Laws abilities are always available after researching it, Republic's ability to settle with an army and explore with a scout are only able to be used when you are currently using Republic as your government.

All cards in your hand and your opponents hand will be played before the battle is over. The ones that are not dead are surviving units, they will likely be played across several fronts with no units across from them.

The standing forces are all of the unit cards your civilization has in a collective pool of cards. The battle hand is the cards you randomly drew from the standing forces pile and brought to the specific battle you are currently fighting.

No, Metal Working only increases the attack at the moment the card is played. Your strength 1 unit will die if it takes 1 damage. (Don't let him get trumped before he can deal his damage, that would be silly.)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mr. D
United States
Oneonta
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Quote:
If a player has the "Code of Laws" Tech Card, are the abilities available only if he is playing as a Republic.

The ability on the Tech card is available. The ability of Republic is not available until you switch to that government and is only available while you remain a Republic.

Quote:
Are the unused cards in the battle hand considered to be "surviving units"?

Those extra cards can still be played to new fronts and will count towards your total combat strength at the end of combat.

Quote:
Is attack strength the same as health strength, such as when using the resource ability of Metalworking? So if my unit has a 1 strength value before using Metalworking, would the opposition require dealing 4 wounds to kill that unit?

Normally, attack strength equals health, but IIRC Metalworking only increases attack strength.

Hope this helps.
-TR
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Konstantin Lasko
Poland
Krakow
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
and you can also check this thread, which contains official answers to lots of questions:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/thread/597735/unofficial-faq-v2...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.