Does anyone understand how to use the Honey Pot Ant card?
I can't understand what the text "Recycle all Resource Cards spent on one Colony upgrade" means.
As it has 0 attack points and that there are only 2 in the whole Ant deck would suggest that it is considered a powerful card.
Congratulations. You have just discovered the secret message.
Please send your answer to Old Pink, care of the Funny Farm, Chalfont.
Although we got to talk about this at your place today (yay!) I thought I would answer it just in case anybody else was interested in the answer...
"Honey Pot Ant" plays very much like a Ploy card, where you are able to play it at any time in order to regain the Resource cards that you just spent on a colony upgrade. I assume because it is an Ant card, you could use it as an Ant card during assaults (strength '0'). Obviously, it is weak as an ant, but very powerful when purchasing colony upgrades!
I agree with Adam's interpretation on this one.
We play the Honey Pot Ant as an ant/ploy hyrbid card. While he can act as a normal ant card for the purposes of combat he is pretty useless and while he remains in a player's hand he is treated as any other card for the purposes of ploys etc. However, he basically lets you pay for a colony upgrade for free (provided you have the initial resources to spend in the first place).
Lay down the resources needed to buy a colony upgrade.
Play and discard the Honey Pot Ant.
Return the resources you just laid down to your resource pile.
At least that's how we play.
I agree the rules could be a little clearer and some examples would be nice, but an excellent, portable game for the price IMHO.