GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,504 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

A Few Acres of Snow» Forums » General

Subject: Questions--Kennebec and Others rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is the Kennebec card supposed to be blank? If so then it makes it a drain on your deck.

If the British take Port Royal, can the French still use the card's parchment spaces on the bottom? I assume not but wanted to make sure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Rupp
United States
Marion
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kennebec is a dead-end on purpose. It's still useful if you want to raid from it... but most of the time Kennebec isn't a good place to take.

If you lose a city, the card is a dead card until you retake the city. You can't use anything on the card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carlos Lamas
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) yes, indeed. you can't settle or siege anything from Kennebec, but it opens up raiding routes. regardless, it's worthwhile to governor that card away asap.

2) no. you can only use a card in any way if you have a settlement or town on it, and it is not under siege.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon J
United States
Eagan
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Print and Play Gamer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks you guys!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Derek McKay
Azerbaijan
APO
msg tools
badge
Is it my turn? Sorry, I wasn't paying attention.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
[thread=Obiwan]http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/716231/obiwan-kennebec[/thread]

Above is the funniest thread I have seen dealing with the card.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Paull
United Kingdom
HUNTINGDON
Cambridgeshire
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
losdelfuego wrote:
1) yes, indeed. you can't settle or siege anything from Kennebec, but it opens up raiding routes. regardless, it's worthwhile to governor that card away asap.

2) no. you can only use a card in any way if you have a settlement or town on it, and it is not under siege.


Addendum to 2): And not cut off from supply.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Hannam
United States
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I usually take Kennebee to extend my raiding opportunities, and I make sure to fortify it to extend myself on the board, then I governor it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.