United States
Columbus
Mississippi
flag msg tools
http://www.destructoid.com/author.phtml?a=1364
badge
Darren@destructoid.com
mbmbmbmbmb
So, I have been playing Battlestar Galactica with my group for about eight months now. We've only played the base game, mostly because I hadn't seen the need for the expansions, but partially because I frequently have new players and I don't want to overwhelm them.

I recently purchased both expansions, and I want to drip feed the new mechanics, so my players pick them up well. So I figured I'd start off with a Pegasus game, introducing Treachery, the Pegasus board, the Pegasus characters, and executions, leaving New Caprica (and probably Cylon Leaders) out to start off with.

But from what I've read, Exodus's treatment of the executions is much more elegant, where they can't be used as simple loyalty tests. Since I have both expansions, I've got the components. But are there any gameplay reasons that I've overlooked for me not to use Exodus executions without anything else from Exodus?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Vollick
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
One reason I can think of is the fairly significant chance that not all the Cylon cards will be dealt out. If you're playing a 5 player game having just a single YAAC card out, especially when it's obvious that there is just a single YAAC card out can really make for a less than stellar.

Since Exodus had ways of drawing new loyalty cards (Personal Goals) it mitigated that risk. Pegasus has no such method.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus
Austria
Vienna
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yep, the main problem is that this would introduce the possibility that there is only one Cylon in play.

You may want to have a look at this thread, to give you some ideas on how to address the execution issue.