Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
...count as a surrendered unit for a VP, or is it just harder to bring back? THe rules seem to say yes, but the VP in question would mean auto victory for me, so I want to be certain.

Thanks,

Chris
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Of course it counts if it dies when out of supply. You can't just attack with your OOS units and have them eliminated and claim your opponent doesn't get the VP, that would defeat the whole point.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
C M
Germany
flag msg tools
Move along, move along...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules 10.7.1 says: "Most Eliminated units are placed in the Destroyed Units Box or, if the unit had an Unsupplied marker on it at the
time of its elimination, it is placed in the Surrendered Units
Box instead.
" (my highight).

So I woud say, regardless of the circumstances, any time a unit with unsupplied marker is destroyed, it goes to the Surrendered Units
Box and counts as a VP.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Laufle
United States
San Ramon
California
flag msg tools
designer
I enjoy games about Stalingrad
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Tako wrote:
So I woud say, regardless of the circumstances, any time a unit with unsupplied marker is destroyed, it goes to the Surrendered Units
Box and counts as a VP.



Destroyed in COMBAT is the key term here..
There is an exception and that is overstacking.
Rule 8.4.3 states:
[8.4.3] Overstacking Penalty: At the end of any Phase or
Battle, the owning player must put any excess units of his
choice from that hex into the Shattered Units Box until it
conforms to the stacking limit (8.4.1), Unsupplied units are
put in the Destroyed Units Box.

This allows a convenient escape method for players to juggle units around and then 'destroy' the unsupplied but overstacked unit denying the enemy a VP.


2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Buhl
United States
Leeds
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rhuned wrote:
Tako wrote:
So I woud say, regardless of the circumstances, any time a unit with unsupplied marker is destroyed, it goes to the Surrendered Units
Box and counts as a VP.



Destroyed in COMBAT is the key term here..
There is an exception and that is overstacking.
Rule 8.4.3 states:
[8.4.3] Overstacking Penalty: At the end of any Phase or
Battle, the owning player must put any excess units of his
choice from that hex into the Shattered Units Box until it
conforms to the stacking limit (8.4.1), Unsupplied units are
put in the Destroyed Units Box.

This allows a convenient escape method for players to juggle units around and then 'destroy' the unsupplied but overstacked unit denying the enemy a VP.




Very tricky! Thanks for the tip.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Leonid Libman
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I would assume that the OOS unit that is eliminated by German card #10 also goes into surrendered box. I'm I right?

Card says "Play at the end of either player’s Supply Check
Phase to immediately eliminate one Soviet unit that is under an
Out of Supply marker."
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
maygli wrote:
I would assume that the OOS unit that is eliminated by German card #10 also goes into surrendered box. I'm I right?

Card says "Play at the end of either player’s Supply Check
Phase to immediately eliminate one Soviet unit that is under an
Out of Supply marker."


Yes
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.