Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Card 36 - "Surprise Attack" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Paolo Zamagni
Italy
Pievequinta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
"... move NORMALLY one German Unit up to two hexes..."

I am using it:

1- ignoring MP cost (example: the 1st hex is marsh and the 2nd mountain)

2- my stack is stopped from enemy ZOC

3- going out from enemy ZOC without troubles then entering in a 2nd hex (no ZOC-ZOC if no friendly units and so on)

4- 2 units starting together and arriving together (no split possible)

5- you MUST "ending next a enemy unit..." and MUST "put a counterblow..."

Is it correct?





 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Laufle
United States
San Ramon
California
flag msg tools
designer
I enjoy games about Stalingrad
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OrcoPaolo wrote:
"... move NORMALLY one German Unit up to two hexes..."

1- ignoring MP cost (example: the 1st hex is marsh and the 2nd mountain)

2- my stack is stopped from enemy ZOC

3- going out from enemy ZOC without troubles then entering in a 2nd hex (no ZOC-ZOC if no friendly units and so on)

4- 2 units starting together and arriving together (no split possible)

5- you MUST "ending next a enemy unit..." and MUST "put a counterblow..."



1- Incorrect, you must still pay all associated movement costs.

2- correct, you must stop upon entering an enemy ZOC

3- you must pay an additional MP when leaving the enemy ZOC but otherwise fine.

4- Incorrect, the card stated only a SINGLE unit may move (One) so if you had a stack you would have to choose one of the units as the target of the card and leave the other behind.

5- correct
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rhuned wrote:
1- Incorrect, you must still pay all associated movement costs.


So, how many MP do you get to spend? The card doesn't say. You think it's the same amount as a normal movement phase? Is it reduced by mud, snow, etc?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Zamagni
Italy
Pievequinta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
about "4-",

sorry for my mistake, the text is "a stack" not "a unit", so the question is: 2 units starting from the same hex MUST arrive in the same hex? (I think so but not sure)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since you are moving "a stack", clearly all of the units must stay together.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micheal Spiering
Canada
St. Thomas
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can the Armies on the Rumanian front use this card on turn one when they are not permitted to move?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paolo Zamagni
Italy
Pievequinta
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The card begin with; "Play after the Soviet Movement phase..." so you can use it but only after Soviet movement (for any German troop, I think)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OrcoPaolo wrote:
The card begin with; "Play after the Soviet Movement phase..." so you can use it but only after Soviet movement (for any German troop, I think)


I am not sure. The scenario says: R units cannot move on Game Turn 1. Not just on the German player turn. This restriction would apply on the Soviet turn, also. But it's not clear in the case of this kind of conflict, does the card override the scenario rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tuomo Syvänperä
Finland
Nahkela
Other (Non U.S.)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
DaviddesJ wrote:

I am not sure. The scenario says: R units cannot move on Game Turn 1. Not just on the German player turn. This restriction would apply on the Soviet turn, also. But it's not clear in the case of this kind of conflict, does the card override the scenario rule?


Well, it says in the rulebook: "[5.3.2] Event Precedence: When there is a conflict between Event text and the Rules, the Event text takes prece- dence."
I'm just not quite sure that in this case that's the way it was intended.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Micael Gustavsson
Sweden
Stockholm
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
As noted above, it says "stack".
However, I am wondering about the definition of "stack" here.
Maybe a silly question but I have to ask.

A stack is defined by things being stacked together which requires a minimum of two. "Stacking" in the game is defined as two units simultaneously occupying the same hex (paraphrasing).
However, in wargames we move stacks around, and I would even call moving single units - moving "single unit"-stacks around.
You see what I'm thinking?

So, if I play card #36 as Axis while not having any stacks of two units, but only single units, can I move anyone of those "stacks"?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David desJardins
United States
Burlingame
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
gustmic wrote:
So, if I play card #36 as Axis while not having any stacks of two units, but only single units, can I move anyone of those "stacks"?


Yes. A stack consists of one or more units in the same hex.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.