7 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Variants

Subject: Solo Deck-Building with 1 Core Set: 30-card decks rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mst 3k
msg tools
mb
I'm pretty new to the game and have notched up solo wins vs Mirkwood with Leadership and Spirit starter decks. I've now started playing with deckbuilding, multi-sphere decks, Tactics and Lore.

The problem is that I don't feel like there are many choices - or many good choices. If I want to make a dual-sphere deck of standard size (50 cards) using one core set, assuming I will use 3 Gandalfs, I have to use 47 out of the 58 cards (29 each sphere) available to me. Plus there are some obvious things to throw out: cards that cost too much in a sphere where you have only one hero, cards that are not very useful in solo play, cards that aren't very good period. Once you throw those out, your deck-building experience is over. Worse, I spend more time thinking about what cards I don't want rather than what cards I do want.

My solution is to play with smaller decks: 30 or 35 cards, for example. If you want, you can add a rule that you can use only two copies of a single card rather than three. Now you are selecting only 50% of the cards available to you rather than 80%.

This should make things slightly easier (not a bad thing for solo beginner, one core set) but not too much. One advantage is that you select the best cards and avoid being forced to play some less useful ones. Another advantage is that your card draws should be slightly more consistent. And you have to "earn" the first advantage by figureing out what the "best" cards are.

Yes, I think I will eventually be buying more cards, but I have only played this game 5-6 times so far. I would like to get to know the game better before dropping another chunk of money on a second core set or an expansion.

Thoughts?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer