I was thinking about curses today and I had to pull out my rulebook to confirm my sneaking suspicions... I don't think killing a monster is supposed to end any curse EXCEPT for the one that explicitly states that the curse is ended by killing a monster (Bloodlust).
Here is what the rulebook says on the subject of curses:
Curses: Some Encounter Cards represent a curse that affects
a single Hero. Place a Curse Card on top of your Hero Card to
remember its effect. Curses last a short time, such as until you
defeat a Monster or when you roll a 16 or higher at the end of
Emphasis is mine. When you use the phrase "such as" in this context, it is outlining examples of how a curse could be ended.
If this is not the correct interpretation... why put instructions on the bottom of the card as to how to end the curse at all?
What do you guys think? Unless it's been answered elsewhere, I believe that the only way to lift a curse is to do EXACTLY as it says on the bottom of the card... rolling a 16+ or killing a random monster has nothing to do with ending your curse.