Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Warhammer Quest» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Must Visit" Locations -- When must that visit happen? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Lazarus Darkeyes
United States
Playa del Rey
California
flag msg tools
There are several Warriors which MUST visit some given Special Location if able when they visit a town/city (Trollslayer = Alehouse, Imperial Noble = L&S, etc). There is nothing specific about how that is supposed to be accomplished...

There are 2 different ways I interpret that:
1) That Warrior must attempt to find that Special Location every day until they find it the first time. Afterward, they can do whatever they want in town.

2) That Warrior cannot *choose* to leave town until they have successfully visited the noted Special Location. They can do whatever they want beforehand, but they have to go there before leaving, even if all their party members are outside the city walls waiting for them. They can of course get kicked out via Settlement Events and such and thus skirt this obligation.

I've always played by option 1.

Anyone have an opinion on this? A third option?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John "Omega" Williams
United States
Kentwood
Michigan
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trollslayer rules for settlements and Alehouses is on pg 173.

Alehouses though are allways found. pg 19.

Dont have the Noble so cant say on that.
At a guess, if it says a character must visit a place on entering a settlment - then if the rules dont say theres one automatically precent then assume they can spend each day searching that the group is in town. When the group leaves they go too unless the player want to retire that character or such - or can convince the group to wait another day.

Keep in mind that settlement events can boot you right out of town before you find your goal. Such is the WH world... Stock up on bandages.

Just my thoughts on that.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Littlemonk
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Young Forest Warrior
badge
Samurai trained to die with honor. Ninja trained to kill others. Shao-Lin trained to live forever!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
LazarusDarkeyes wrote:
There are several Warriors which MUST visit some given Special Location if able when they visit a town/city (Trollslayer = Alehouse, Imperial Noble = L&S, etc). There is nothing specific about how that is supposed to be accomplished...

There are 2 different ways I interpret that:
1) That Warrior must attempt to find that Special Location every day until they find it the first time. Afterward, they can do whatever they want in town.

2) That Warrior cannot *choose* to leave town until they have successfully visited the noted Special Location. They can do whatever they want beforehand, but they have to go there before leaving, even if all their party members are outside the city walls waiting for them. They can of course get kicked out via Settlement Events and such and thus skirt this obligation.

I've always played by option 1.

Anyone have an opinion on this? A third option?


Both interpretations are correct, depending on the Warrior in question. The Trollslayer follows your interpretation #2. The Trollslayer's Rulebook (page 4, Trollslayers in Settlements) states:

A Trollslayer must make at least one visit to the Alehouse during a single stay in a Settlement, and may make any number of further daily visits.

For the Imperial Noble it's interpretation #1. The Noble's Rulebook (page 6, Settlements) states:

If the Imperial Noble visits a town or city, then he will always go and visit Luigi & Salvatore, makers of fine arms and goods to the aristocracy. All towns and cities have at least one store and the Imperial Noble will make it his first priority to go and visit them.

(Note that the rules also state that the Imperial Noble "must always visit L&S if in a town or city and buy something.") Boy, that sucks!

The Bretonnian Knight is under the same obligation as he is honour-bound to visit the Baron's Castle or he loses Honour Points. (Bretonnian Knight Rulebook, page 6, Visiting Settlements)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.