Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Carcassonne: The River» Forums » General

Subject: Can you combine the COUNT with the river expansion?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If so... how do you incorporate rivers and the carcassonne castle??
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cristelli
United States
Milton
Vermont
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Sure. Just build the beginning of the river off from one of the grassy areas of the castle.

This pic will give you an idea of how to do it.

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Brune
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
HEY! That TICKLES!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You mean the city of Carcassonne?

The official rule in Carcassonne: The Count of Carcassonne is that you build the city first then start a spring of the river next to the city.

I've never cared for that. It doesn't make much sense logically or aesthetically. So we play this way...

1) Build the river first.

2) Before playing normal tiles, place the city. If possible, a long (4-tile) edge of the city must be adjacent to as many river tiles as possible. If that won't work, then a 3-tile edge, or part of an edge. The next player after the last river tile is played gets to place the city, but no meeple can be placed on any of its tiles.

3) Start placing regular tiles.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Q You
Canada
MISSISSAUGA
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.