GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
10,493 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
13 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Run and picking up things rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luke Butler
Canada
Newfoundland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, they can pick up things/activate glyphs. Declaring a "Run" action actually doubles your movement points for that turn. What you do with them is up to you. In order to pick up a chest for example, you have to spend 2 movement points while in the same space as the chest. As for portals (I assume you mean glyphs) to activate them, all you have to do is move onto the space containing it.

Lets use an example!

Battlemage Jaes declares a "Run" action. Giving him 8 movement points for the turn. He moves 3 spaces into a space containing a chest, uses 2 movement points to open it (he has spent 5 now), then moves another 2 spaces to a space containing an un-activated glyph which causes it to activate, he then spends 1 movement point (his last one) to use the newly activated glyph to return to town.

Hope this clears things up!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Moving, drinking potions, teleporting to town or back through a glyph of transport, opening/closing doors, and opening chests all cost movement points. You can do them any time during your turn that you have movement points--before or after attacking, placing orders, or whatever else. You can even do them during a Battle action, as long as you get movement points by spending fatigue or from special abilities.

Picking up potions and coin piles on the ground doesn't even cost movement points; you can just choose to do it at any point during your turn if you're in the right space. It's completely free.

Activating a glyph (that is, flipping it to the white side) is an involuntary reaction that happens as soon as you enter the space--even if you don't want to activate the glyph, and even if it's not your turn. If an Ogre smashes you with a Knockback attack and you land on a glyph, the glyph activates.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Stegner
United States
Quincy
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
That is the style of a good player after the first few turns if you don't drink an energy potion at least every other turn you are wasting valuable time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
miloboy gogogo
Thailand
Bangkok
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
He can attack

use fatigue to move / open door / pick up treasure

and then another attack
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Lennert
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
matzi1 wrote:
So, if a player do a battle action (two attacks) and after that he/she use fatigue, he/she can move in the same round?

Everything you do after declaring your action is a big blob that can be done in any order. A hero using a Battle action can move before, after, and between the two attacks, if she chooses.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.