GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
7,858 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
22 Days Left

Support:

Recommend

Thumb up
 Hide
17 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » BoardGameGeek Related » BGG Suggestions

Subject: Game weight, could we get it to 2-3 decimal places? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David C
United States
Aurora
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mb
Games weighted between 2.25 and 2.3, are quite numerous. Having 0.05 amount to quite a few games (made sure it at least had 5 ratings) calls for a slightly finer-grained scale.

I realize it doesn't totally matter, but as a software engineer I'm thinking the difference is between this:

printf("%.01f", number);
and
printf("%.02f", number);

in which case...if you could adjust that one or two higher, it would be awesome.

The reason I ask this is that I'm looking for the "non-gamer peak". I know it's elusive. I know it might not even be real. So far I'm thinking it's between 2.1 and 2.2.

Except the gipf series is throwing things off.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
At that level of precision, you're looking at a very chaotic measurement. In a game with, say, 1000 votes for weight, a single vote can change the value of the 3rd place to the right of the decimal. (Example: a game has 1000 votes and averages 2.254. Then someone changes a single vote of "1" to "2" and suddenly you have 2.255).

In other words, the significance in the 3rd decimal place is too chaotic to make valid comparisons between games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin G
United Kingdom
Bristol
flag msg tools
badge
Don't fall in love with me yet, we only recently met
mbmbmbmbmb
Do you really think that the 2nd and 3rd decimal place would be at all meaningful in an average of a typically small number of subjective ratings on a 5-point scale? I don't.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote