Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Carcassonne: Expansion 4 – The Tower» Forums » Variants

Subject: Princess and the Dragon AND Tower Variant(s) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Glen S
United States
New York
flag msg tools
Please see my non-capture variant for the tower. This variant should work with both that variant, and with the base TOWER EXPANSION rules:

Brief explanation: This variant defines the interaction between THE TOWER and THE DRAGON. Notably, when a tower segment is placed, the dragon moves once toward it (giving players more 'control' over where the dragon moves), when a dragon enters a tile that has an unowned tower, that tower is knocked down, and when a tower is claimed, the dragon can no longer visit that tile. Please see the rules below for clarification and further description.


THE TOWER + PRINCESS AND THE DRAGON (Capture AND Non-Capture Variants)

See the appropriate rules for whatever variation of THE TOWER you are playing, plus these additional rules. These rules assume that the dragon starts out in play at the beginning of the game or at the end of building the river.

-Just to be clear, nothing can be placed on a tile containing the dragon. This includes meeples and tower segments.

---(NON-CAPTURE VARIANT)---
-Whenever any tower segment is placed on the board, the dragon immediately makes ONE orthogonal move towards the tile with that tower segment (the dragon sees events on the horizon and heads for them). This movement takes place immediately after the tower segment is placed. If the tile is diagonal in relation to the dragon and there are two move choices that get the dragon closer, the player who placed the tower segment chooses which direction the dragon goes.

---(CAPTURE VARIANT)---
-Whenever any tower segment is placed on the board, if a meeple would be captured by the player placing the tower segment, that meeple is captured as normal. Immediately after this, whether a meeple was captured or not, the dragon makes ONE orthogonal move towards the tile with that tower segment. If the tile is diagonal in relation to the dragon and there are two move choices that get the dragon closer, the player who placed the tower segment chooses which direction the dragon goes.

RULES COMMON TO BOTH VARIANTS:

Fairy Rules:
-a player who places a tower segment as opposed to placing a meeple on her turn can also take ownership of the fairy (as per the usual rules).
-in any turn where the dragon is moved and no meeple is placed (meaning the fairy can be moved), the fairy cannot be moved until the dragon has finished moving for that turn.
-the fairy cannot be placed with a meeple who is the owner of a tower, nor can fairy points be awarded for having a meeple take ownership of a tower that is on a tile where the fairy is present.
-it is possible for the fairy to be on a tile containing a tower (owned or unowned) if another meeple was placed on that tile and the owner of that meeple moved the fairy to that tile.
-the fairy grants no bonus points for placing tower segments or for an owned tower.

Dragon Moving Rules:
-The dragon cannot cross or occupy empty squares in the board and is forced to move around obstacles to get closer to the tile with the tower segment. This includes tiles occupied by the fairy, empty spaces and those spaces occupied by an OWNED TOWER (SEE BELOW FOR EXPLANATION). In rare cases, this can cause the dragon to move away from the tile with the tower segment in order to go around some obstacle.
-if the dragon has no legal place to move, he stays where he is.
-the dragon chooses the shortest path possible to get where he is going. If a player must choose between two moves, and each gets the dragon equally closer to the tile in question, then as stated above, that player chooses which of those two moves the dragon makes.

SPECIAL NOTE: If a tile is drawn that when placed causes the dragon to move (VOLCANO or DRAGON EMBLEM), then the dragon moves immediately after the tile is placed. Meeple or tower placement that occurs after the tile is placed occurs after this movement of the dragon.

When Tower Meets Dragon:
-whenever a dragon enters a tile that has an unowned tower in it, the dragon knocks down the tower, leaving only the foundation. Because the dragon entered the tile, any followers on the tile are returned to their owners as per the normal rules. The following events occur as well:
1) if the tower had two or more tower segments at the time the dragon entered the tile, then all followers on any of the four tiles orthogonally adjacent to the tower are returned to their owners with no points scored (they are buried in the rubble of the tower).
2) if the tower had four or more tower segments at the time the dragon entered the tile, then in addition to followers on the 4 orthogonally adjacent tiles, followers on the 4 diagonally adjacent tiles are returned to their owners with no points scored as well (larger tower, larger rubble pile).
3) THE PLAYERS MUST DECIDE IF THE DESTROYED TOWER SEGMENTS ARE RETURNED TO THE PLAYER(S), RETURNED TO A COMMON TOWER SEGMENT AREA THAT IS SHARED, OR ARE DESTROYED AND DISCARDED. USE YOUR JUDGEMENT HERE.

SPECIAL NOTE: the fairy is not affected by a tower that is destroyed and does not move due to a destroyed tower.

-whenever a player takes ownership of a tower, there are several rules that take effect in addition to the normal rules:
1) The dragon can no longer visit the tile containing that tower (the knight at the top of the tower is defending the tile)
2) If there were any meeples on the tile containing the tower that did NOT belong to the player who took ownership of the tower, those meeples 'run away', whereby they stay on the same feature they currently occupy but must move to some other tile included in that feature. A player controlling this meeple MUST move it once, and CAN move it up to three times orthogonally. If this is not possible, the meeples are returned to their owners with no points scored.

SPECIAL NOTE: Once a tower is owned by a player, opposing players cannot place meeples on that tile using any means (portal tiles, wagons, meeples scared by THE PLAGUE or by another TOWER, etc…)

Rules for moving the meeples that ‘RUN AWAY’:
-the meeple must always be on a tile that contains the feature that that meeple currently owns, and must stay in or on that feature.
-The meeple cannot double back on itself during this move.
- A meeple cannot run ‘through’ a tile containing the dragon to a safe tile if the tile containing the dragon is the only path available to that safe tile.

SPECIAL NOTE: In rare cases, because a meeple MUST be moved at least once, it can be ‘forced’ to run into the dragon and so be eaten and returned to the supply without scoring points.


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.