Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Son of Arnor - question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Richard Hirschman
United States
flag msg tools
On the Son of Arnor (Ally) card:
"Response: After Son of Arnor enters play, choose an enemy card in the staging area or currently engaged with another player. Engage that enemy."

1) This card does not specify that this card has to come into play just during the Phase 5, Player Engagement Phase. Does this mean that the card can come into play and engage an enemy in any phase of the game?

2) If the answer to 1) above is yes (card can come into play during any phase), is the combat resolved immediately or do you wait for the Combat Phase to resolve the Combat?

3) If the card is able to come into play during any phase, why would you do it? Why activate the the Response on the card during any phase other than the Engagement Phase?
Thanks.
Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chakroun Karim
France
Besancon
Franche-Comté
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mb
rich10 wrote:
On the Son of Arnor (Ally) card:
"Response: After Son of Arnor enters play, choose an enemy card in the staging area or currently engaged with another player. Engage that enemy."

1) This card does not specify that this card has to come into play just during the Phase 5, Player Engagement Phase. Does this mean that the card can come into play and engage an enemy in any phase of the game?

2) If the answer to 1) above is yes (card can come into play during any phase), is the combat resolved immediately or do you wait for the Combat Phase to resolve the Combat?

3) If the card is able to come into play during any phase, why would you do it? Why activate the the Response on the card during any phase other than the Engagement Phase?
Thanks.
Richard


IMO:

1) If you have sneak attack (or any event cards that allows you to put allies into play), yes; but if not, since it's an ally, it can only come into play in phase 2.

2) the enemy is only "engaged" with Son of Arnor, that means that the combat resolves normally at phase 5, even if you triggered the response in phase 2

3)I *think* some enemies do damage outside of combat, or flee after having attacked, etc. With such enemies it could be nice to reengage them and thus decrease the threat on the staging area... (wargs, I think?)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) You cannot play ally cards at any time. There is a phase where you can play them before you quest, and this is it. Well, that is it unless you play a card that can be played at other times (an action card) that causes the ally to be put into play.
2) n/a
3) There can be good reasons. If you have an enemy that is going to engage you (your threat is too high) anyway, doing this takes that enemy out of the staging area before you quest, so that it does not count against you in questing. It also enables you to play the trap attachment (sorry, don't have the cards to hand for the proper name) to a big enemy without it getting an attack in against you. Done normally, you can only play the trap in the round after it engages you (and presumably did damage). I am sure there are other good reasons.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There are numerous reasons you might want to engage a monster before the Engagement phase. You may want to get an enemy with high Threat out of the staging area before the Quest phase, for instance.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Morris
Scotland
Harrogate
North Yorkshire
flag msg tools
designer
Join the BGG Folding @Home Team !!
badge
This user had more :gg: than sense
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
carthaginian wrote:
2) the enemy is only "engaged" with son of armor, that means that the combat resolves normally at phase 5, even if you triggered the response in phase 2


Not so. The enemy always engages a player, not a specific character. Which character defends in combat is a decision the player makes in the combat phase.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
rich10 wrote:
On the Son of Arnor (Ally) card:
"Response: After Son of Arnor enters play, choose an enemy card in the staging area or currently engaged with another player. Engage that enemy."

1) This card does not specify that this card has to come into play just during the Phase 5, Player Engagement Phase. Does this mean that the card can come into play and engage an enemy in any phase of the game?

2) If the answer to 1) above is yes (card can come into play during any phase), is the combat resolved immediately or do you wait for the Combat Phase to resolve the Combat?

3) If the card is able to come into play during any phase, why would you do it? Why activate the the Response on the card during any phase other than the Engagement Phase?
Thanks.
Richard


1) Yes, but you'll need a card like Sneak Attack or Stand and Fight in order to play Son of Arnor any time outside of the Planning Phase. In general, you can only play allies (including Son of Arnor) during the Planning Phase.

2) Combat is not resolved until the Combat Phase.

3) Say you have Forest Snare and Son of Arnor in your hand, along with a Hill Troll in the staging area. The Snare can only be played during the Planning Phase, but you can't attach it to the Troll unless the Troll is engaged with a player. Normally, you would engage the Troll through optional engagement or an engagement check. The Troll would get to attack, and then you could play the Snare during your next Planning Phase.

If, on the other hand, you play Son of Arnor during a Planning Phase, you can immediately engage the Troll. You can then Snare the Troll during the same Planning Phase, eliminating the Troll's opportunity to make an attack.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Hirschman
United States
flag msg tools
John,
Once the Forest Snare is attached to an enemy (your helpful example), does it stay attached to that enemy until that enemy is removed from play? If so, Forest Snare conceivably could remain attached to the enemy for multiple rounds. Correct?
Thanks again.
Richard
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Friederike
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rich10 wrote:
If so, Forest Snare conceivably could remain attached to the enemy for multiple rounds. Correct?

Correct - you can leave the enemy snared forever (unless the scenario forces you to get rid of all enemies for winning). Just don't forget to deal it a shadow card each round (which then gets discarded without effect).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
Yep, definitely. For three Lore resources, Forest Snare essentially neutralizes an enemy for the rest of the game Won't work on the Witch-king or the updated Nazgul of Dol Guldur, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.