GeekGold Bonus for All Supporters at year's end: 1000!
9,755 Supporters
$15 min for supporter badge & GeekGold bonus
16 Days Left

Support:

Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

No Retreat! The Russian Front» Forums » Rules

Subject: Finnish replacements rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claus Westh Sorensen
Denmark
Copenhagen
flag msg tools
mb
Am I correct in assuming that the Axis player can always rebuild a lost step on the Finnish counter - there need not be an overland supply path to Finland in order to do that?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Claus_Westh wrote:
Am I correct in assuming that the Axis player can always rebuild a lost step on the Finnish counter - there need not be an overland supply path to Finland in order to do that?


No. You need an overland supply path, even if the unit is always supplied in Finland.

Note that you can get that through Lake Ladoga if you are isolating Leningrad ( ! ).

It might sound weird, but it's a "design for effect" rule. If the Germans are not isolating Leningrad it's considered that the Finns are considering withdrawing from the war, especially if they are attacked by the Soviets.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fredrik
Sweden
Stockholm
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So... we should simply disregard your first answer, right? blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FderGrosse wrote:
So... we should simply disregard your first answer, right? blush


Ooops... Forgot to remove it... (done now).

I did not remembered what was my intent anymore, and and to double-check my 2008 designer's notes.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Situation... the Soviets pound the Finnish fort unit and it suffered a step loss. On the German turn, is it one or two cards to bring it back up to full strength? I believe it is two, but I want to be 100% sure.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Carl Paradis
Canada
montreal
Québec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
madhatter wrote:
Situation... the Soviets pound the Finnish fort unit and it suffered a step loss. On the German turn, is it one or two cards to bring it back up to full strength? I believe it is two, but I want to be 100% sure.


Rule 7.1 First bullet:

The Axis player must discard two cards for each Improvement
(exception: SS units cost one card, see 4.5 & 4.6).

So indeed, it costs TWO cards. devil
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Apex
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent! Thanks for the quick reply.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.