Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Labyrinth: The War on Terror, 2001 – ?» Forums » Rules

Subject: Intel Community rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Lewandowski
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I understand that you can use the 1 op to play to the reserve.

As I understand the card, the 1 op cannot be combined with others on the reserve chart. Is that correct?

I can't combine the 1 op provided by Intel Community with 2 ops on reserve to get a 3 op play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Cunningham
United States
Milford
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
For one card play you use the Ops on one card to add to the reserves.

For a second card play, you can combine the Ops on the reserves and the Ops on the card to get a higher Ops value (maximum 3).

See 6.3.3 in the rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Aaron Cappocchi
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
Arkham Horror, Amun Re, R-ECO, Ora Et Labora, Napoleonic Wars
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jason is specifically asking about Intel Community, which says "Conduct a 1-value operation." as part of its Event text. Based on rule 6.3.3 and other rules terminology, placing Reserves is a type of operation, so yes, the 1 OP from the event can be used to place Reserves.

But can it be used to Conduct a higher-value operation by drawing on previously-placed Reserves? According to all the rules of normal gameplay, sure. But the event text says "a 1-value operation". Is conducting a 3-value (or 2-value) Operation legal?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Lewandowski
United States
Lincoln
Nebraska
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
agentzen wrote:

But can it be used to Conduct a higher-value operation by drawing on previously-placed Reserves? According to all the rules of normal gameplay, sure. But the event text says "a 1-value operation". Is conducting a 3-value (or 2-value) Operation legal?


Correct! That is what I am asking!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Willows
United States
Woburn
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm going to say that no; no operation higher than 1 OPS may be conducted.

That's based on this rule;

Quote:
6.2.2 Whenever event text conflicts with game rules, the event
governs: follow the event text instead of any conflicting rules while
implementing the event and, if lingering (6.2.7), as long as the event
remains in effect (not blocked or lapsed).


I see the event text as being specific in its instruction.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Providence
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No gets my vote.

Reserves are use to increase the value of the card you are able to play, not to effect the event details.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Volko Ruhnke
United States
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No is correct. In addition to 6.2.2, see 6.3.3.1. Reserves only can add to Ops that come from a card played for Ops. In the case above, Intel Community has been played for the event.

Regards, Volko
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.