Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Eclipse» Forums » Rules

Subject: Rules questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alex Sorbello
United States
Albuquerque
New Mexico
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
A couple of questions came up after reading the rule book.
The rule book is very well written and these are more unclear interpretations of mine. As always Any information is appreciated.

Influence phase: after moving disc you may move 2 colony ships face up. Page 10. Does this mean that you can place a INF disc then move cubes to this area and then turn 2 colony ships back face up? Or do you turn the colony ships face up right after the disc placement and before the ship colony use?

Movement can you only move 3 ships max? Thus you can always only attack with 3 ships only?

Missile strike is a round of combat in initiative order before regular combat rounds so could you anounce retreat instead of firing missiles providing you have them, in this phase so you can move back during the first regular combat round?
Or
Retreat after missile strike:
 So you fire missiles then anounce retreat during your fire action in this round instead of firing and then through a full round of combat then during the next round you may retreat at your action turn. Possible being fired at twice depending on initiative.

Influence track, the first space will always be empty because of the home base correct? What if you receive the extra inf disc and have no space for them what happens with them or can you use them freely?

Orbital color in reference i.e. can you not place a brown pop marker on a orbital marker?

FYI 2 pages of 9 and 10 in the rule book.

Any answers on these questions will be greatly appreciated.
Cheers
Lexen

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph Courtight
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I will answer in the order received

Influence phase: You may flip a colony ship face down at any time to put a population cube on that space. which means that you may activate you colony ships after you place a disk and before you flip your colony ship. You may also use the colony ship right after you flipped them over, but you'd have to flip them immediately back.

Movement: you move 3 ships with a movement action, but you may take multiple movement actions. Combat takes place after all players have passed thus allowing you multiple movement actions to move several ships to the same space.

Retreat: my interpretation was that the missile round was a separate round and would not include any of the other round phases and this includes a retreat order. Yes, if you order a retreat you will get shot out on the exit regardless of initiative.

Influence track, the first space will always be empty because of the home base correct? What if you receive the extra inf disc and have no space for them what happens with them or can you use them freely?

Yes to both.

Orbital color in reference i.e. can you not place a brown pop marker on a orbital marker?

what?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Diachuk
msg tools
mbmbmb
To answer the last question: Orbitals cannot be populated by a population cube from the Materials track, only from the Money or Science track. That's why they have those colors.

Also, in the extremely rare case where you have extra influence discs (from the two technologies that grant them) and can't place them on your influence track, just place the extra discs on top of the rightmost disc and just use them as you need them. This is tremendously unlikely because you would have to get developed enough to have the +2 Influence disc technology (and possibly the +1 Influence disc one also) and then somehow lose sectors until you only have one (or two if you have the other technology as well) left at the end of a round (when all your discs used for actions would return to your track).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sampo Sikiö
Finland
Espoo
flag msg tools
designer
it's no secret that the stars are falling from the sky / it's no secret that our world is in darkness tonight / they say the sun is sometimes eclipsed by a moon / you know i don't see you when she walks in the room
badge
Shapers of Dorado
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joseph and Jeremy have it right.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Diachuk
msg tools
mbmbmb
That's correct. You may use your Colony ships at any point on any of your turns.

Typically, when you use the Influence action, you'll move the influence discs, then use your colony ships, and then refresh your colony ships (optionally using them again). So most of the time there's no need to start by using the colony ships. In fact, most of the time they'll already be used through earlier Explore actions or after Combat of the previous round.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Morten Friis
Denmark
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmb
taggedjc wrote:
... or after Combat of the previous round.
The colony ships gets flipped face-up during the cleanup phase (as mentioned on the bottom of page 24 in the rulebook).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeremy Diachuk
msg tools
mbmbmb
Ah, of course. But that's still typically when they would be used. Although it might give you a reason to have some colony ships free before combat, then.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.