Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

The Lord of the Rings: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Dungeon Jailor Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Ryan Gunther
Canada
Coquitlam
British Columbia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The forced response on this card says that an unclaimed objective in the staging area gets shuffled back into the encounter deck after unsuccessful questing. If an objective is attached to an enemy and the enemy is engaged with a player I assume the objective is not considered in the staging area and hence would not be elgible to be shuffled back into the deck? Similarily for an objective attached to a location that is the active location.

Is this correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
Here's what the FAQ has to say regarding unclaimed objectives:

(1.17) Unclaimed Objectives
An unclaimed objective is one that is not currently claimed and under the control of a player. An unclaimed objective can be guarded or unguarded. A guarded objective is treated like an attachment if guarded by an enemy or location, and remains attached to that card until it leaves play, at which point it will return to the staging area. Any unclaimed objective in the staging area that is not attached to a card is considered to be unguarded. If an objective is claimed at one point, and then returns to the staging area, it regains the status of unclaimed. [emphasis mine]

In order for an objective to "return to the staging area," it would have to leave the staging area (likely attached to an enemy or an active location). So, it seems clear that an objective guarded by an engaged enemy or an active location would not be in the staging area, and would not be affected by Dungeon Jailor.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave D
msg tools
And what happens to the card that is guarding the objective, when the jailor shuffles it back into the deck?

Also, a strategy question: Since holding the objective cards in Dol Guldur sucks, it seems like one possibility would be the following:

1)After defeating a guard card and claiming it(if this even has to happen the first time), use an action to unclaim that objective and return it to the staging area, unguarded.
2)During the next quest phase, if there is a jailor present, use the player action phase immediately following quest committal, but before resolution, to claim that objective.
3)Resolve questing
4)Unclaim that objective card and send it back to the staging area.

My first impression was that this was not how claiming worked, but someone in another thread indicated that it is as simple as spending an action in the appropriate phase, to claim and unclaim them, as long as they are not guarded.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
kurahoshi wrote:
And what happens to the card that is guarding the objective, when the jailor shuffles it back into the deck?
The guarding card is not affected in any way.

kurahoshi wrote:
1)After defeating a guard card and claiming it(if this even has to happen the first time), use an action to unclaim that objective and return it to the staging area, unguarded.
This won't work. The EfDG objectives offer no methods of detachment. Once you've claimed an objective, it stays attached unless specifically acted upon by some card effect (e.g. False Lead in The Hunt for Gollum). You can't just detach Gandalf's Map or the Dungeon Torch as an action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Ludlow
United States
Saint Louis Park
Minnesota
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Starhawk77 wrote:
You can't just detach Gandalf's Map or the Dungeon Torch as an action.

True. But they are restricted, so if you're desperate you could attach two more restricted cards to the hero, forcing a discard of one of them.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Steinbach
United States
Forest Grove
Oregon
flag msg tools
jdludlow wrote:
Starhawk77 wrote:
You can't just detach Gandalf's Map or the Dungeon Torch as an action.

True. But they are restricted, so if you're desperate you could attach two more restricted cards to the hero, forcing a discard of one of them.

Good point. Might be a clever way to save a hero from lethal Shadow Key damage or buy a few more turns by dumping the Dungeon Torch.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.